Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

KillerKodiak69

Old October 30th, 2018, 06:17 AM
My DM has allowed me to take a Blink Dog as my animal companion due to my character's background, but since that's not a standard choice it isn't available for the revised ranger rules. I'd like to add it myself but I've never done it before and I can't figure out where animal companions get added or locate blink dog at all in the existing data files. Would anyone be able to help me out?
KillerKodiak69 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mergon

Old October 30th, 2018, 08:00 AM
Under gear, go to Add new Mounts and Hirelings.
- Scroll down to Hireling and add one.
- Click on the Customize icon on the Hireling and select Blink Dog as a Race.
- Customize name and other options as agreed upon with the DM.

Watch your back, Conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
Mergon is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
KillerKodiak69

Old October 30th, 2018, 08:12 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mergon View Post
Under gear, go to Add new Mounts and Hirelings.
- Scroll down to Hireling and add one.
- Click on the Customize icon on the Hireling and select Blink Dog as a Race.
- Customize name and other options as agreed upon with the DM.
Ok, but then the issue becomes that the animal companion gets added automatically upon hitting level 3 so I have a hireling and an animal companion. I was hoping to find the location of animal companions in the editor and add a bootstrap or something so that Blink Dog became available as a race for the animal companion.
KillerKodiak69 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mergon

Old October 30th, 2018, 08:26 AM
Ah, I didn't realize you wanted to do this in the editor. Best thing is to find and copy an existing animal companion.