Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
tempest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2

Old July 7th, 2006, 01:46 AM
Hey guys

I have been trying to update this software but icant find anywhere to input a proxy username and password.

I ma behind a corporate firewall and it need my username/pass to access th internet.

Ive tried ticking the HTML 1.1 through proxy in IE, but still no go.

Any ideas guys???

thasks
tempest is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,258

Old July 12th, 2006, 06:11 PM
Unfortunately, I have no idea. Russell is our resident expert on all things networking related (being an IT guru), but he hasn't replied yet, so he may be off on vacation right now. What I CAN tell you is that AB uses the standard built-in mechanisms provided by Windows for accessing the internet. These are the exact same mechanisms (and settings) that Internet Explorer uses. Beyond that, we need an IT expert to provide further guidance....

Hopefully, Russell will return soon and will shed some light on this topic. Either that, or someone else who's familiar proxy access can offer their insights.

-Rob

At 02:46 AM 7/7/2006, you wrote:

Quote:
Hey guys

I have been trying to update this software but icant find anywhere to input a proxy username and password.

I ma behind a corporate firewall and it need my username/pass to access th internet.

Ive tried ticking the HTML 1.1 through proxy in IE, but still no go.

Any ideas guys???

thasks
rob is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Russell
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 254

Old July 13th, 2006, 07:44 PM
It's been a while since I've had to use a proxy server, so I'll have to have a look. I'll let you know what I find.

Pretty sure we went through all of this when we were testing CV and the new proxy code you put in worked fine (even when the proxy required authentication), but that was a few years ago now ;-)

Cheers,
Russell.
Russell is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Russell
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 254

Old July 13th, 2006, 08:44 PM
What should happen is that AB gets your proxy settings from IE and tries to send it's request to the proxy server specified - this has been the way since ABv1.3. If the proxy server responds with a "username required" response, AB prompts you for the username/password and then retires the request (Rob, can you confirm this? I thought this is what we fixed up for CV and ABv2).

Don't recall if AB can handle an autoconfigured proxy or not. What are the settings in "Internet Options->Connections->LAN Settings" section of IE? If you've got "automatically detect settings" or "use automatic configuration script" it may not work...

Cheers,
Russell.
Russell is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,258

Old July 14th, 2006, 06:21 PM
Your recollection is the same as mine. When we were working on AB2.1 or 2.2 (can't remember which), the shortcomings of the proxy support were addressed. To my knowledge, everything worked at that point in time, and the code for internet access has not changed since then. Both CV and AB3 use that same code, and no one has reported any problems since then.

I have no idea what the implications of an auto-configured proxy might be. AB uses the built-in mechanisms provided within Windows - the same ones used by IE. So whatever those mechanisms provide ought to inherited by AB. The only exception would be if the user needs to be prompted for something by the application, but I'm 99% sure that those situations are handled internally and automatically by the internet access API (such as the login requirements of a proxy server).

-Rob

At 09:44 PM 7/13/2006, you wrote:

Quote:
What should happen is that AB gets your proxy settings from IE and tries to send it's request to the proxy server specified - this has been the way since ABv1.3. If the proxy server responds with a "username required" response, AB prompts you for the username/password and then retires the request (Rob, can you confirm this? I thought this is what we fixed up for CV and ABv2).

Don't recall if AB can handle an autoconfigured proxy or not. What are the settings in "Internet Options->Connections->LAN Settings" section of IE? If you've got "automatically detect settings" or "use automatic configuration script" it may not work...

Cheers,
Russell.
rob is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Russell
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 254

Old July 24th, 2006, 10:45 PM
tempest, did you get this to work?
If so, can you let us know.
If not, can you post your proxy configuration settings as requested above?

Cheers,
Russell.
Russell is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.