Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
gmerrick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21

Old February 16th, 2017, 04:16 PM
I am playing with the updated data package and I am seeing an error I cannot suss out.

It is Extra Tool Choices: Resources Underspent 0 of 1

The tab that appears red is the Skills tab.



Character file attached.
Attached Files
File Type: email Errand.por (54.3 KB, 2 views)
gmerrick is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Matrac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5

Old October 20th, 2019, 01:55 PM
Did you find a answer to your problem? I'v got the same one.
Matrac is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 580

Old October 20th, 2019, 05:12 PM
It might not be the same error for both of you.

From what I can tell from the portfolio gmerrick posted it might be that thieves' tool proficiency is rewarded from both Urchin and Rogue and this is supposed to add a "free" tool choice on the skill tab due to the overlap.

I'm not sure why the portfolio isn't working though. I created a fresh rogue with Urchin background and my skill tab shows under tool proficiencies a line that goes:
Add tools from training (0 of 1 extra)
where yours doesn't.

If this is an older portfolio, it might be worth trying to create a new version of this character in a fresh new portfolio to see if something just needs to be refreshed.
dungeonguru is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
WargamingR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5

Old May 28th, 2020, 01:41 AM
May 2020 - I have the same issue with my Druid; I get the validation message and the Skills tab coloured red, but cannot find anywhere to select the tools.
Attached Files
File Type: email Sarona - Wood Elf Druid.por (39.5 KB, 0 views)
WargamingR is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
WargamingR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5

Old May 28th, 2020, 02:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by WargamingR View Post
May 2020 - I have the same issue with my Druid; I get the validation message and the Skills tab coloured red, but cannot find anywhere to select the tools.
And coincidentally, I have found the answer

Its to do with some of the optional rules for Ability Options in the Hero Settings.

With you character open, press Control/Cmd-K then scroll down to Optional Rules | Ability Options and deselect Background Proficiency and Personality Trait Proficiency. You may want to click Set Defaults to save this for the future. Click OK and you should be able to find the missing options in your character!

You will need to follow this process for every character.

Last edited by WargamingR; May 28th, 2020 at 02:27 AM.
WargamingR is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mergon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787

Old June 1st, 2020, 10:43 AM
I don't know how many times those optional rules have cause players issues. I've lost count.

Watch your back, Conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
Mergon is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.