Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Matt Droz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152

Old October 29th, 2019, 08:32 AM
Used to be, I changed the bitmaps for background and mainwindow, it would change the backgrounds for my authoring kit. But since a recent update came down, the only way to change the backgrounds is changing the main images in the Program Files. Is there code I can put in my authoring data files that will update the backgrounds?

Matt Droz Community material (Forgotten Realms & Non-SRD/Retro)
Matt Droz is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old October 29th, 2019, 11:01 AM
If I recall, it’s a matter of changing some definitions in the UI components.

Here's an example:
File: styles_ui.aug
Code:
  <!-- bitmap for use as the background of label portals designated as a "title" -->
  <resource
    id="titleback"
    isbuiltin="yes">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="mainwindow.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>
With it being builtin="yes", that has the program looking at the /builtin folder under the Hero Lab folder (mine is C:\Program Files (x86)\Hero Lab\product\builtin )

Changing the above code to:
Code:
  <resource
    id="titleback"
    issystem="no"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="panel_title.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>
put the panel_title.bmp in the dataset folder. This is the folder that is checked for the bmp file when the issystem="no" and the builtin="no" entries

next time you restart the titles of your panels will now be purple.

when saving the bmp files, make sure to not save color space information with it.
Attached Images
File Type: png Default titles.png (269.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: png Custom titles.png (238.0 KB, 6 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip panel_title.zip (281 Bytes, 2 views)

Working on -
  • (SWADE) WIP Savage Rifts
  • Savage Rifts (Deluxe): Update link in This post
  • Star Trek Adventures: Update link in This post

Last edited by TCArknight; October 29th, 2019 at 01:20 PM.
TCArknight is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Matt Droz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152

Old October 30th, 2019, 11:25 AM
I'll try that when I get home. I simply removed the issystem and isbuiltin definitions, leaving the mainwindow.bmp, since I had a mainwindow.bmp in the dataset folder.

Matt Droz Community material (Forgotten Realms & Non-SRD/Retro)
Matt Droz is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old October 30th, 2019, 12:13 PM
They default to N if they aren’t present so that should be the same.

I’m trying to change the mainwindow.bmp for the overall default backgrounds, etc. but no change seems to take effect. I think am going to have to keep playing around with it...

Working on -
  • (SWADE) WIP Savage Rifts
  • Savage Rifts (Deluxe): Update link in This post
  • Star Trek Adventures: Update link in This post
TCArknight is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Matt Droz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152

Old October 30th, 2019, 03:08 PM
Yeah, that's what I'm running into. The only way I've been able to change the main backgrounds is by altering the background and region bitmaps in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Hero Lab\product\texture24 folder.

Matt Droz Community material (Forgotten Realms & Non-SRD/Retro)
Matt Droz is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Matt Droz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152

Old October 30th, 2019, 04:04 PM
Thing is, I remember changing it by just changing the bmp files in dataset earlier this year.

Matt Droz Community material (Forgotten Realms & Non-SRD/Retro)
Matt Droz is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old October 31st, 2019, 06:19 AM
Try this:
Quote:
issystem (Optional) Boolean – Indicates whether the resource is intended to replace a "system" resource utilized by HL. When you want to completely change the visual look of your data files and have that new look integrated into HL's own forms, you will need to specify system resources. Only specific resource ids can be replaced as system resources. Default: "no".
It looks like if it is a "system" resource, then you have to set the element to issystem="yes" I tried this by copying mainwindow.bmp to mainwindow_black.bmp and using GIMP in my case to fill the entire image with a solid black.


Code:
  <resource
    id="mainwindow"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="mainwindow_black.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>
I did that to anywhere I found background.bmp, did some name changes to the bmp files:
Code:
  <!-- tile bitmap used in interior background regions -->
  <resource
    id="background"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="background_main.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>

  <!-- tile bitmap used as background within summary panels -->
  <resource
    id="sumbackgrd"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="background_summ.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>

  <!-- bitmaps used for the background region of tabs shown at the top
        -one bitmap is one for a selected tab and the other for an unselected tab
  -->
  <resource
    id="tabunsel"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="background_tabunsel.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>
  <resource
    id="tabsel"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="background_tabsel.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>

  <!-- tile bitmap used within the "static" panel across the top -->
  <resource
    id="staticpan"
    issystem="yes"
    isbuiltin="no">
    <bitmap
      bitmap="static.bmp">
      </bitmap>
    </resource>
and the result is this:



Let me know how it works for you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip background_bmps.zip (411.7 KB, 3 views)

Working on -
  • (SWADE) WIP Savage Rifts
  • Savage Rifts (Deluxe): Update link in This post
  • Star Trek Adventures: Update link in This post

Last edited by TCArknight; October 31st, 2019 at 07:03 AM.
TCArknight is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Matt Droz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152

Old October 31st, 2019, 09:09 AM
That did it! Thank so much!

Matt Droz Community material (Forgotten Realms & Non-SRD/Retro)
Matt Droz is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.