Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44

Old June 18th, 2017, 10:22 AM
Hi,

Black powder has been discovered in our 3.5 campaign, so we are adding Musketeer class based on a lightly-modified Gunslinger from Pathfinder.

My coding ability is limited - if I can find an ability that is similar to what I'm trying to code I can generally make it work.

Can you suggest any 3.5 abilities that approximate gunslinger abilities that I could refer to in order to copy and amend?

- Gun Training: Dex bonus to damage on specific weapons
- Grit: Adding a Tracked Resource based on Wis bonus (I currently hard-coded it for the 1 character in play)

Is there a way to access Pathfinder files to cut and paste code without buying the license?

With best regards,

Greylin

PS I was able to get the Nimble ability (+1 dodge bonus to AC in light / no armour) by adapting the Dervish ability

Last edited by Greylin; June 18th, 2017 at 10:42 AM.
Greylin is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Dami
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 615

Old June 18th, 2017, 10:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greylin View Post
Is there a way to access Pathfinder files to cut and paste code without buying the license?
Access - Yes. Load up Pathfinder and start the editor. You can look at most abilities to see how they were put together in PF. Eg: Grit is a Class Special. You can try and copy the scripts, etc across to d20, but the systems aren't the same, so don't be surprised if you get a bunch of errors.
Dami is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,705

Old June 19th, 2017, 12:10 PM
Actually Gunslinger is from Ultimate Combat so to even see the data in the editor you would need to purchase the UC license.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Illyahr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 267

Old June 20th, 2017, 07:11 AM
For dex to damage, look at the Shadow Blade feat from Time of Battle. For a thing with Wis charges, use this
Code:
timing=post attributes
field[hTotal].value = #attrmod[aWIS]
Illyahr is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44

Old June 24th, 2017, 03:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illyahr View Post
For dex to damage, look at the Shadow Blade feat from Time of Battle. For a thing with Wis charges, use this
Code:
timing=post attributes
field[hTotal].value = #attrmod[aWIS]
Thank you; this was spot-on.

Grit is sorted - added as a counter that calculates Wis bonus.

I set up Gun Training as Class Specials (5th, 9th, 13th, 17th) that give a free Show-only Feat that applies the Dex bonus to damage:

Code:
~ If we're disabled, do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.FtDisable] <> 0)

      ~ Set focus from the drop down or the Target.? tag
      var id   as string
      var name as string
      call fTargetId
      ~ We can't do anything without a unique id
      doneif (empty(id) <> 0)

      ~ Assign the appropriate tag to all weapons that meet the criteria
      foreach pick in hero where "IsWeapon." & id
eachpick.field[wDamBonus].value += hero.child[aDEX].field[aModBonus].value
        nexteach
It seems there must be a way to get the bonus applied directly in the Class Special using the Dropdown Selection Setup but I couldn't figure out how to pass the Dropdown through to the weapon.

Any guidance is welcome!

With best regards,

John / Greylin
Greylin is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Illyahr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 267

Old June 24th, 2017, 11:37 AM
The Shadow Blade feat is built with "feat" language that only affects a specific weapon (hence the dropdown), so using the lines directly won't translate properly.

I'd go ahead and change the lines to this:

Code:
doneif (tagis[Helper.ShowSpec] = 0)

foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "thingid.wGun1 | thingid.wGun2 | ..."
eachpick.field[wDamBonus].value += #attrmod[aDEX]
nexteach
Just substitute the appropriate weapon ID for the "wGun1" and "wGun2" areas. Repeat the sample lines for each weapon you want the bonus to apply to.
Illyahr is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44

Old June 25th, 2017, 12:25 AM
I want to maintain the drop-down to select the specific weapon (e.g., Pistol, Dragon Pistol, Coat Pistol, etc.). I can enable that in the Dropdown Selection Setup in the class special. How would I capture that so the weapon IDs are not hard-coded in the ability?
Greylin is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,705

Old June 25th, 2017, 09:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greylin View Post
I want to maintain the drop-down to select the specific weapon (e.g., Pistol, Dragon Pistol, Coat Pistol, etc.). I can enable that in the Dropdown Selection Setup in the class special. How would I capture that so the weapon IDs are not hard-coded in the ability?
You will need to add the same "tag" to each of these guns. I would recommend using the wGroup.? tag group which is under the 'Group' button in the editor. Then you can create a new tag of say wGroup.GrGuns or something. I added "GR" to represent your special two character unique user iD. You always want to do that to prevent clashing with official or community Thing ID's. You can also setup your user id value in the editor by going to "Tools->Set User Identifier".

Then once created and added to all the weapons. Your custom expression for the dropdown can be:
Code:
component.BaseWep & wGroup.GrGuns

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44

Old August 6th, 2019, 01:39 PM
Hi,

Our gunslinger reach 5th level so now gets this feat. The feat appeared to work fine when I tested it 2 years ago but in hindsight I never tested re-loading a character with the ability. Sure enough, when I save and re-load the character I get the error, "Pick fMskGunTra has been orphaned as it can no longer be added to the portfolio" (fMskGunTra is my ShowOnly Feat which is called by the Class Special at 5, 9, 13, 17 levels). I get the error four times (once for each time the Class Special calls the Feat at 5, 9, 13, 17 levels).

In the character sheet, the feat still appears under the class tab (with a pull-down weapon list which keeps its state) and also under the Feat tab - also with a pull-down weapon list but this does NOT keep its state.

Note the character otherwise appears to work, and as long as I re-select the weapon in the Feat pull-down list each time I re-load it still calculates correctly - so it's not a game-breaking error. But it's annoying!

Can you give me any tips of anything to look at?
Greylin is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,748

Old August 7th, 2019, 08:18 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greylin View Post
Hi,

Our gunslinger reach 5th level so now gets this feat. The feat appeared to work fine when I tested it 2 years ago but in hindsight I never tested re-loading a character with the ability. Sure enough, when I save and re-load the character I get the error, "Pick fMskGunTra has been orphaned as it can no longer be added to the portfolio" (fMskGunTra is my ShowOnly Feat which is called by the Class Special at 5, 9, 13, 17 levels). I get the error four times (once for each time the Class Special calls the Feat at 5, 9, 13, 17 levels).

In the character sheet, the feat still appears under the class tab (with a pull-down weapon list which keeps its state) and also under the Feat tab - also with a pull-down weapon list but this does NOT keep its state.

Note the character otherwise appears to work, and as long as I re-select the weapon in the Feat pull-down list each time I re-load it still calculates correctly - so it's not a game-breaking error. But it's annoying!

Can you give me any tips of anything to look at?
I'm afraid I'm not very good at debugging unless I can see what's happening. Any chance you can attach the user file so I can take a look?
Sendric is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.