Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Hexamony
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16

Old March 12th, 2011, 12:50 PM
I never really appreciated that flash drives could fail but I've recently experienced this. Unfortunately, I've been saving my Hero Lab portfolio to this flash drive and recently found out that Hero Lab can't read it. Being curious I loaded the file in a text editor and found a bit of the problem. It's neat the files are in XML and thus easy to read and find problems. However, I have no idea what to do when the problem is very clearly corrupted data.

Is it possible for someone with more knowledge and skill to take a look at the file and fix the corrupted areas? I have no idea if blocks of corrupted text were just inserted or actually changed anything.

Hexamony
Hexamony is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
chiefweasel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,322

Old March 12th, 2011, 02:27 PM
Have you tried to move the filesd to your hard drive and then try to open the files? i wonder if its the drive or the files.

Web site - Cheese Weasel Logistics - www.cheeseweasel.net
Twitter - @CheeseWeaselGMZ
For user created content check out www.d20pfsrd.com and www.cheeseweasel.net
For video demos of Hero Lab go to http://www.youtube.com/user/TheChiefweasel?blend=9&ob=5
chiefweasel is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Hexamony
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16

Old March 16th, 2011, 04:43 PM
I was able to salvage the most needed data from the file so it took me a few days to get around to trying this.

It is the actual file but I'm sure the odd behavior from the flash drive is what led to the corruption in the first place. Looks like I'm looking at a new flash drive. Also suspect I'll just have to rebuild the rest of the data from scratch unless there is some method to trim out the junk code and add back what was removed.
Hexamony is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
chiefweasel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,322

Old March 17th, 2011, 04:23 AM
If the file is truely corrupted you might not be able to recover it. Although if it was loaded into HL, the files should be in the game system folder for HL, Herolab/pathfinder for instance. but i dont know how far along in your process you got. if you cant find the files, it might be that you will need to start again. sorry about that.

Web site - Cheese Weasel Logistics - www.cheeseweasel.net
Twitter - @CheeseWeaselGMZ
For user created content check out www.d20pfsrd.com and www.cheeseweasel.net
For video demos of Hero Lab go to http://www.youtube.com/user/TheChiefweasel?blend=9&ob=5
chiefweasel is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old March 17th, 2011, 05:01 PM
Please email me the file to colen@wolflair.com if you still want us to take a look at it - I've recovered some data in similar situations in the past, by deleting large blocks of corrupted data (which was replacd by 0s) and some of the surrounding code. Sometimes enough of the file is left to let it be loaded back in, albeit with a bit of data loss.

Hope this helps!
Colen is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.