Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Omphaloskeptic

Old May 20th, 2013, 10:48 AM
One of my players is making a shaman character and Hero Lab considers the 'Old Ways Oath' edge a prerequisite for Arcane Background (Shamanism).

I'm new to Hero Lab -- can I fix the data file myself? I'm using Hero Lab for Mac, what are the relevant files?

Which leads to another question: is there a way to give characters a campaign-specific free edge (or the like)?

Sorry for my ignorance...
Omphaloskeptic is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Omphaloskeptic

Old May 22nd, 2013, 08:40 PM
Okay, okay: I found the editor and fixed my copy of the file.

Still, Old Ways Oath is not a prerequisite for AB: Shamanism, so -- maybe in the next update ... ?
Omphaloskeptic is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
zarlor

Old May 23rd, 2013, 03:19 AM
Sorry I missed this earlier.

However, in Deadlands Reloaded on p. 31 under Old Ways Oath (Major): "Shamans, whose magic relies on communing with nature spirits, must take this Hindrance."

And again on p. 33. Arcane Background (Shamanism): "Requirements: Novice, Old Ways Oath"

So it IS a requirement for Shamanism. Looks like you figured out how to fix it if you don't want it to be one in your game, though. I will note, however, that if you modified the DLR.user file then whenever there is an update to that file your version will be overwritten.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Space 1889 (original file by Erich), Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Eventually