Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Mutants & Masterminds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
nosdaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26

Old February 1st, 2011, 09:25 AM
I was wondering if it was possible to use the editor to make some skills cost more than others? I'd like to have most skills cost 4/pp but combat sills cost 2/pp.
nosdaddy is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
FifthWanderer
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 649

Old February 2nd, 2011, 08:28 AM
I don't think that's possible in the editor. I think the skill pp costs are hard-coded in.
FifthWanderer is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
nosdaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26

Old February 2nd, 2011, 10:09 AM
yeah, I thought as much as well, but I figured it was worth a shot asking.
nosdaddy is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,431

Old February 2nd, 2011, 12:44 PM
You might be able to do it via the Eval scripts so that the player gets power points added for given skills, but I think that to get the correct skill allocation of 4/pp, you'd have to override every skill.

It's probably going to be easier to ask Colen to pretty-please add it as an option next time just like he did for variant skill costs in 2E.
Duggan is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Shadowchaser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 219

Old February 3rd, 2011, 02:33 AM
At first, I read your post as wanting to cost the skills at 4pp per rank, not 4 ranks per pp.

What you can do is to make a new Advantage, perhaps, that adds +4 to a given skill, and make one for each skill? Then you could buy the 'skills' through the advantages panel? Would that work?
Shadowchaser is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
nosdaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26

Old February 3rd, 2011, 09:02 AM
that could work, but I'd rather have the combat skills be the one-offs, as opposed to having to do it for all the other skills, so having skills normally cost 1/4 pp, but combat skills costing 1/2, as I feel this maintains better combat balance. I just feel that skills based characters get left out in the cold a bit in the new edition.
nosdaddy is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
nosdaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26

Old February 3rd, 2011, 09:29 AM
I just realized that using the 2e Attack Specialization feat modified might do the trick, just not sure how to go about porting that over, as I don't know this scripting language. It would be nice to be able to select the attack it affects, and also to have one for melee or ranged.
nosdaddy is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,163

Old February 3rd, 2011, 02:04 PM
Seriously, the Skills Cost House Rule options in the M&M3 data set were just ported over from M&M2, and with the way Combat Skills work in 3rd Edition they are basically useless. Changing them all over to not affecting Close Combat and Ranged Combat would make them useful again.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Second Edition
Currently Playing: D&D 4e,
Pathfinder First Edition
Former Games: D&D 5e, Mutants & Masterminds (2E & 3E), Savage Worlds
charlieluce is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Shadowchaser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 219

Old February 4th, 2011, 10:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlieluce View Post
Seriously, the Skills Cost House Rule options in the M&M3 data set were just ported over from M&M2, and with the way Combat Skills work in 3rd Edition they are basically useless. Changing them all over to not affecting Close Combat and Ranged Combat would make them useful again.
The other option you have to keep from having to change the rules is to house-rule lower difficulty classes for base skill checks. For example, where you might normally assign a DC of '10' to a task, change that to a '5'. Means you don't have to change the character building at all.
Shadowchaser is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old March 2nd, 2011, 12:51 PM
I'll see if I can add support for a per-skill cost multiplier to skills in the editor.
Colen is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.