Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old April 26th, 2020, 07:48 AM
So is there any way, when I have a 254 build and no server access, to go back to 253? I have made plenty of changes on 254, but it seems that the import / export works better on the older version?

The 254 build fixed 2 issues:
1. Corresponding pins / node targets missing on smart images - could be very annoying potentially
2. import structure export, replacing structure elements - Iam not sure of the implications and if this can be worked around somehow in 253?

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net

Last edited by Acenoid; April 26th, 2020 at 07:51 AM.
Acenoid is offline   #21 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old April 29th, 2020, 05:16 PM
Iam on 254 currently, and trying to import data into a realm.
Like the OP I first imported the full export of another realm.
After doing a few changes (moving categories around) some topics were corrupt and I attempted a partial export of another realm, which ends in the error OP described.

The major issue I have now is, that I cannot revert to 253 since my DB is now on the newer version. ...

Anyone found another solution how to revert to 253 if all available databases are already on 254?

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net

Last edited by Acenoid; April 30th, 2020 at 01:44 AM.
Acenoid is offline   #22 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 281

Old May 1st, 2020, 11:54 AM
I had to delete my local DB, install 253, and then do a full sync down from the LW server. Worked fine - just took some time. Just make sure you're fully up to date with your syncing before doing any of this.
JustinThomason is offline   #23 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old May 1st, 2020, 04:00 PM
I cannot do that. Server subscription expired and it is not up to date since may last year. I have some backups theoretically which should be on 253 but I have made many changes since then, since 254 worked fine.

Or do you mean if I would get server synch enabled again (not possible atm - I had no need for a credit card for more than a year) sync up, downgrade to 253, and then sync down again?

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #24 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old May 4th, 2020, 12:44 PM
By importing the data to anohter realm and then import again to the original destination, it is possible to add further topics. However I had some duplicate categories, so it is not only an emergency workaround. Maybe it still works with preserve ownership, not sure.

Let's hope LWD finds some time to revise this import / export situation in the future.

It would be super cool if the application would just abort the import if a problem arises instead of crashing with the error.

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #25 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,369

Old May 4th, 2020, 02:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acenoid View Post
By importing the data to anohter realm and then import again to the original destination, it is possible to add further topics.
This is usually the route to disaster, export and import should only be used one-way between realms.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #26 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 778

Old May 5th, 2020, 01:18 AM
To clear up the instructions:

originating Realm A
target: B

1st Import A->B works
2dn (partial) Import A->B crashes

workaround for 2nd import:
Import A-> C -> B

So the imports have the same direction.

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #27 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.