Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
monsterfurby
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 72

Old April 3rd, 2014, 03:00 PM
I still have to figure out what purpose statblocks serve over just formatting a statblock and copy-pasting it into a text snippet. The main thing I am wondering about here is that so-called statblocks are actually fairly clunky to use - opening an entire new document to view it seems to go exactly against the purpose of a statblock as a quick reference of stats.

Maybe I am using this feature wrong, so feel free to correct me, but how is something that I have to import (three clicks) and then view separately (one click) better than just copying and pasting (two-three clicks) it and being able to view it instantly because it shows up as a text snipped (no clicks)?
monsterfurby is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
enrious
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 175

Old April 3rd, 2014, 05:03 PM
I long ago ditched the statblock snippet and gone with pasting into a text snippet and I have never looked back.

The only reason I can see in favor is that it can perhaps reduce "clutter" on a page, but for me that is not worth the hassle.
enrious is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Dr_Automaton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 150

Old April 3rd, 2014, 05:51 PM
At least for Savage Worlds, I find it easier to just use text snippets. The snippet looks fine and I get to keep it inline with the rest of the topic.
Dr_Automaton is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,939

Old April 3rd, 2014, 06:09 PM
For some game systems, statblocks can become extremely long. If you have a statblock for an encounter that includes multiple combatants, the statblocks can easily be multiple screen fulls in length. By having a separate statblock snippet, users can readily move all that material off to another place, out of sight until needed. If your statblocks are short enough, or you prefer having the statblock inline with the topic, then there is absolutely nothing wrong with putting the statblock into a text snippet. Whatever works best for you!
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
MaxSupernova
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 407

Old April 3rd, 2014, 07:34 PM
Also, for some games, there is a "standard format" for a stat block, and begin able to keep table formatting can be handy.
MaxSupernova is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mystic Lemur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 247

Old April 3rd, 2014, 08:36 PM
I like that if I re-use a statblock a lot, I can save it as a file on my computer and then link RW to that file instead of having to copypasta or type it all in every time. And if I want to make small tweaks that only apply to that encounter, it doesn't overwrite the original file on my computer.
Mystic Lemur is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
monsterfurby
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 72

Old April 4th, 2014, 02:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxSupernova View Post
Also, for some games, there is a "standard format" for a stat block, and begin able to keep table formatting can be handy.
Table formatting does kind of work in text snippets as well, though.

Thanks for the feedback, folks. So the statblock is really more of a character sheet from text file (as opposed to Hero Lab file)? That sounds reasonable.
monsterfurby is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
lifer4700
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 183

Old April 4th, 2014, 07:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic Lemur View Post
... instead of having to copypasta or type it all in every time. ...
Read the following in Homer Simpson voice.

MMMmmm, that linguine was delicious!!! I wish I had more!

*copypasta*

*POOF!*

Woo Hoo!
lifer4700 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Zaphod Beebledoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 459

Old April 6th, 2014, 02:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifer4700 View Post
Read the following in Homer Simpson voice.

MMMmmm, that linguine was delicious!!! I wish I had more!

*copypasta*

*POOF!*

Woo Hoo!
[Homer] Hmmmm, something! *drools* [/Homer]

Sleet was enjoying a tasty beverage at his local tavern, when a Tarrasque showed up in the local area. He managed to valiantly get on it's back and ride it. How he did it is a mystery to this day...

RW: Engine Heart, I Love The Corps! Home Brew: Star Gate: Avalon, Monda Minutia. I'm good with: OpenOffice, Paint, Lego Digital Designer. & not so good with: Realm Works, Hero Lab, CC3+, GIMP, Cityographer, Hexographer, Fractal Mapper, AstroSynth, Inspiration Pad Pro. RW Kickstarter Supporter.
Zaphod Beebledoc is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
JTenebrous
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 47

Old April 7th, 2014, 07:13 AM
Another user has already mentioned the possibility of using tables in text snippets, but I'll expound on that topic. I've used RW for awhile now, and I'm both a bit of a traditionalist, and a graphics snob, when it comes to Statblocks - I like them to look clean and nice like they were pulled straight from a published book. To this end, I don't use the "Statblocks" feature of Realmworks as it is currently implemented. So what I've done is create a "Bestiary" section in my Mechanics Reference area of Realmworks, with a category dedicated to "Statblock Templates". Each of these "Statblock Templates" is simply a Topic with a multiline text snippet containing a Table which I've nicely formatted and coloured in the cels and borders to look like a Statblock from a published book of whatever system I'm running. Whenever I want to create a new monster/NPC/trap/etc. I simply make a copy of an empty "Statblock Template" of the appropriate type, and paste it into a Snippet within the Topic I've created for said Monster/NPC/Trap/etc. Then I fill in the table, and *voila* - shiny new statblock which I can link to (specifically, at present, I can only link the containing Topic), or copy elsewhere within my realm. Since each entry in the Bestiary is its own Topic, anything that doesn't fit into the appropriate Statblock Table can just go into its own snippet, including text, artwork, etc. Hope this was clear enough.

Last edited by JTenebrous; April 7th, 2014 at 07:44 AM.
JTenebrous is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.