Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 759

Old January 19th, 2009, 09:57 AM
When I start up HL I only still have the AK demo verision (I have purchased the AK & Savage Worlds) but I only seem to have the demo for the AK still.

I was looking to get started with a new system (L5R) and I am not sure how to get started with this. I found the start under develop correct.

Once the full version is released I would believe that the old "demo" will be replaced.
SAbel is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old January 21st, 2009, 02:03 AM
After you purchase the AK/SW package, you then need to re-activate your license. The receipt email should have directed you to do this. Once you re-activate the license, you should no longer be running demo mode with the SW files or anything else created via the Kit.

Before you start writing any data files of your own, I strongly urge you to go through the Savage Worlds walk-through. This will show you how to do the vast majority of things you'll want to do for any game system. It should also give you a much better sense of how to approach creation of a new game for yourself.
rob is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
RARoss1964
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3

Old September 2nd, 2016, 01:14 PM
I am having the same issue as SAbel.
I still only show the Sample Authoring Kit
I have contacted support multiple time and was last told that
"The authoring kit isn't an extra download - it's included with Hero Lab. You can find out more about it by going to the Help menu -> More Documentation -> Authoring Kit Manual. Hope this helps!

--
Colen McAlister
Lone Wolf Development Support - support@wolflair.com
http://www.wolflair.com"

I purchased the Authoring kit in a bundle. But I am not sure how to get it to install?
I am wanting to build a game from scratch I am able to create copies of the existing games and edit but that isn't very helpful since I am not able to change the core stats and such.
RARoss1964 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Kairos
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 173

Old September 4th, 2016, 08:23 PM
Hi, guys:

To create a new ruleset:

1. load the Sample Game System
2. Develop > Create New Game System
3. Enter text as prompted
4. A popup declares success
5. File > Switch Game System...
6. Select your new ruleset from the game menu
7. Once the ruleset is open, go to Tools > Explore Folders > Game System Data Folder.
8. Edit your ruleset (I use Notepad++)


Quote:
Originally Posted by RARoss1964 View Post
I am having the same issue as SAbel.
I still only show the Sample Authoring Kit
I have contacted support multiple time and was last told that
"The authoring kit isn't an extra download - it's included with Hero Lab. You can find out more about it by going to the Help menu -> More Documentation -> Authoring Kit Manual. Hope this helps!

--
Colen McAlister
Lone Wolf Development Support - support@wolflair.com
http://www.wolflair.com"

I purchased the Authoring kit in a bundle. But I am not sure how to get it to install?
I am wanting to build a game from scratch I am able to create copies of the existing games and edit but that isn't very helpful since I am not able to change the core stats and such.

Authoring Kit Rule Sets (now with functioning links!):

Qin: The Warring States

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space

MEGS/BoH/DC Heroes (work in progress)
Kairos is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
RARoss1964
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3

Old September 5th, 2016, 09:37 AM
Unfortunately when I try to go to
Develop > Create New Game System
The option is greyed out.

I have opened the sample game system and renewed my license but this did not unlock the other options.

I keep trying to explain this to support because I don't think my purchase of the authoring kit was ever applied to my account. (Case 101041) Game System Authoring Kit which I opened on 5/28/2016. I purchased the AK on 5/27/2016 but I had previously reviewed how to use the kit here in the forums.
RARoss1964 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,730

Old September 5th, 2016, 10:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RARoss1964 View Post
Unfortunately when I try to go to
Develop > Create New Game System
The option is greyed out.
Did you click on the first option "Enable Data File Debugging" first? Otherwise most of the options under develop menu are greyed out.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
RARoss1964
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3

Old September 5th, 2016, 07:58 PM
Brilliant! That is what I had not done.
RARoss1964 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.