Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
TobyFox2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Andover, Ma
Posts: 617

Old July 15th, 2014, 09:15 AM
I have started work on adding items from the book of Vile darkness, and have hit a small snag with some of the spells. I've tried for about a week to get this to work but I dont really know where to go with it. The problem is "Corrupt" spells, Book of Vile Darkness p. 78. Here is a portion of description on corrupt spells:

Quote:
Spellcasters prepare corrupt spells just as they do regular spells, but corrupt spells are available only to spellcasters who prepare spells. Wizards and clerics for example, can use corrupt magic, but sorcerers and bards cannot. A sorcerer or bard could, however, cast a corrupt spell from a scroll.
....
Corrupt spells are specific to no character class. Furthermore, they aren't inherently divine or arcane spells; a divine caster casting a corrupt spell casts it as divine, and an arcane caster cast it as arcane
Since there are many classes that have "prepared spells," the difficulty is trying to add it to all those classes without modifying those classes themselves, which would be tedious and impractical. The question is; Is this even possible to do with hero Labs or should I just give up on corrupt spells. I have already moved on to other items in the Book of Vile Darkness, until better inspiration hits me but I would like some guidance, should I just skip these spells?
TobyFox2002 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,842

Old July 15th, 2014, 10:18 AM
There are two ways to handle this as I see it. One is to create multiple versions of each spell, and add them to each class's spell list (ie one version for wizard, another for cleric, etc). This is what we do for most spells anyway.

Another option could be to create one version of each spell assigned to Spell Class "Corruptor" and then we can put in a script on something that is on all characters to assign these spells to the correct classes. This is something that's been done before with other things (such as fixing Power Points).
Sendric is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
TobyFox2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Andover, Ma
Posts: 617

Old July 15th, 2014, 10:22 AM
Ouch, yeah.. I think I'll go with the second option (considering how many prepared spellcasting classes their must be)... I was hoping for a way to alter the classes from within the BoVD source, otherwise they'd always have to have this source active..


And its "Corrupt", not "Corruptor" as the spell descriptor.
TobyFox2002 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,842

Old July 15th, 2014, 10:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TobyFox2002 View Post
Ouch, yeah.. I think I'll go with the second option (considering how many prepared spellcasting classes their must be)... I was hoping for a way to alter the classes from within the BoVD source, otherwise they'd always have to have this source active.
Its not really as bad as it sounds. Once you create the spell for one class, you just use the duplicate button, and change the spell class. It probably wouldn't be significantly more work than doing just one version of each spell.

At a quick count, I see 19 classes, though some you could probably disqualify, such as Paladin or Knight of the Chalice. Plus, several of them don't get the full 9 levels of spells.

Quote:
And its "Corrupt", not "Corruptor" as the spell descriptor.
meh. tomato, tomahto.
Sendric is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
TobyFox2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Andover, Ma
Posts: 617

Old July 15th, 2014, 08:01 PM
I've hit upon an idea to use the same script that you made for the warmage and beguiler.

I'll still have to have a line to add it to each of the classes in each spell, but, it is better than having 19 version of each spell. And it will allow for quick and easy additions if new spell casting classes are added.

Do you think that there might be a way to get that to work, if not I'll move on to other projects and come back to this later.
TobyFox2002 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,842

Old July 16th, 2014, 04:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TobyFox2002 View Post
I've hit upon an idea to use the same script that you made for the warmage and beguiler.

I'll still have to have a line to add it to each of the classes in each spell, but, it is better than having 19 version of each spell. And it will allow for quick and easy additions if new spell casting classes are added.

Do you think that there might be a way to get that to work, if not I'll move on to other projects and come back to this later.
Yes. Make a spell or two in the Corrupt class and send me the file. I'll put something together for you.
Sendric is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.