Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ultodrago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 10

Old July 11th, 2020, 07:48 AM
So I'm trying to make a campaign trait for a home campaign that does the following:
1) Give +1 to Knowledge (History).
2) Give +1 to another Knowledge skill of the user's choice.
3) Give +1 to a Lore skill of the user's choice.

By replicating something similar to what's done in the Bandit (River Kingdoms) trait, I can get 1 and 2 working easily, but 3 can't be done with the current implementation.

I've tried multiple methods of getting step 3 to work, all which either don't work and just grab the first dropdown, or throw a compiler error.

I have scrapped the code I used prior, so I don't have anything to show. Is there a way to read from more than one drop-down selector?
ultodrago is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 12:44 PM
What is a lore skill? you should be able to use similar code in part 2 and just adjust for whatever a "lore" is.
Minous is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ultodrago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 10

Old July 11th, 2020, 01:23 PM
Firstly, Lore is a new skill added alongside the Background Skills rules in Pathfinder.

Secondly, the issue with replicating how the Bandit trait works is that, like I said, it only works for Part 2. Every attempt I have used to try and modify it to work for a second drop-down list failed to do anything but give the choice in the first drop-down again.
ultodrago is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 01:39 PM
have you seen the two custom expressions? you should be setting your drop down from there.
Minous is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ultodrago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 10

Old July 11th, 2020, 01:48 PM
Ok. I want to be clear here. I can populate Dropdown A and Dropdown B just fine. My issue is the fact that I can't read what's in Dropdown B with... basically this code that comes straight from the Bandit trait.

Code:
      ~ If we're disabled, do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.FtDisable] <> 0)

      call fTargetFoc

      doneif (state.isfocus = 0)

      ~make our chosen skill a class skill
      var focusskill as string
      focusskill = "ClassSkill." & focus.idstring
      perform hero.assignstr[focusskill]

      ~add 1 to our chosen skill
      #applybonus[BonTrait,focus,1]
ultodrago is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 01:53 PM
Ok, that looks like that trait is just poorly written, take a look at something that uses two drop downs:

Code:
      ~ If we're not enabled, get out now
      doneif (field[pIsOn].value = 0)

      doneif (field[pChosen].ischosen = 0)

      perform field[pChosen].chosen.pulltags[ClsAllowSp.?]

      doneif (field[pChosen2].ischosen = 0)

      perform field[pChosen2].chosen.pushtags[ClsAllowSp.?]
Usage of pChosen and pChosen2 should help you reading both fields

PS: Getting as specific as possible when asking for help allows us to figure out exactly what we should be helping you with.

Last edited by Minous; July 11th, 2020 at 01:55 PM.
Minous is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 01:58 PM
to make a chosen a class skill:

perform field[usrChosen1].chosen.assign[Helper.ClassSkill]
Minous is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ultodrago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 10

Old July 11th, 2020, 02:31 PM
Ok, so that at least work with two dropdowns other than cause a compiler error, which I am thankful for. How would I be able to read and manipulate what skill IDs are chosen tho? Let's say that pChosen (which I swapped with usrChosen1 in my code) is set to Knowledge (Religion) which has the tag of skKnowRel and pChosen2 (which is usrChosen2 in my code) is set to Lore (asdf) which has a tag of skLorOther. How would I go from what I have now to that? How would I prevent it from affecting more than 1 instance of skLorOther if the user has more than 1?

Also I want to apologise for the lack of info prior. I thought I gave enough info initially, but I was mistaken.

Last edited by ultodrago; July 11th, 2020 at 02:33 PM.
ultodrago is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 06:03 PM
#applybonus[BonTrait,field[usrChosen2].chosen,5]
Minous is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 830

Old July 11th, 2020, 06:06 PM
The actual idstring doesn't matter, as working with the higher level objects tends to be easier.
Minous is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.