Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - 4th Edition
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

JackOfAllGames

Old January 31st, 2013, 03:38 PM
EDIT: It looks like I'm on the way to getting this working myself. I've updated this post with what I've found so far in case it helps anyone else.

----------------------------

Hello, all! I'm a newbie around here. I'm just trying out Hero Lab as an alternative to the DDI character builder and hedge against it possibly shutting down someday.

Anyway, I downloaded the program, found that it (understandably) doesn't come with the DDI data already packed in, and started up the downloader. The downloader warned that this process could take 3-4 hours. It's 24 hours later and I have a screen full of exclamation marks (and still counting).

My questions then are as follows:
  1. Q: What is the significance of the exclamation marks? Are they some sort of progress meter or an indication of a problem?
    A: It looks like they are a progress meter and do indicate a problem. If you're seeing dots/periods, that's good. Exclamation marks are bad.
  2. Q: Is it SUPPOSED to take this long?
    A: Looks like the answer is, "No." It finished in around 7-9 hours. A bit longer than expected, but nowhere near the amount of time it had been taking.
  3. Q: Is the download safe to interrupt? (Will it resume downloading from where it left off?)
    A: Apparently not. The downloader just started over from the beginning.

Last edited by JackOfAllGames; April 3rd, 2013 at 04:55 AM.
JackOfAllGames is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
JackOfAllGames

Old February 2nd, 2013, 08:46 AM
[Deleted - No longer necessary.]

Last edited by JackOfAllGames; February 4th, 2013 at 07:58 AM.
JackOfAllGames is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
JackOfAllGames

Old February 3rd, 2013, 10:34 AM
Sigh.
Still running. Checking the output.txt file, I'm getting a ton of:
Quote:
Downloading [Insert URL here.]