Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old November 10th, 2008, 09:16 AM
Can I get a word on when substitution levels might be integrated into hero lab?
Lawful_g is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old November 11th, 2008, 02:51 PM
Lawful_g wrote:
>
>
> Can I get a word on when substitution levels might be integrated into
> hero lab?


Unfortunately, to do racial substitution levels properly will require a
lot of work, and with the authoring kit coming out soon we don't have
the time to fit it in right now. Hopefully we'll be able to get them
implemented at some point after the authoring kit comes out. Until then,
the easiest way to handle them is simply to make a copy of the class and
make the appropriate changes to it.


Sorry for the inconvenience,

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Colen is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old November 13th, 2008, 09:06 AM
Thanks for the response, I'm looking forward to the Authoring kit and everything after!
Lawful_g is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
chogenkiboy
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 43

Old November 17th, 2008, 03:48 PM
Quote:
you could add a feat that searched the array of spells the
Wizard could cast, and added 1 to the highest level. That would be the
most complex thing to do, but once you did it it would work
automatically without you changing an adjustment every few levels.
I'd like to take a stab at this, but I haven't delved deep enough into HL scripting or HL file structures to know where to start off the top of my head... any hints?

Thanks
chogenkiboy is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old November 19th, 2008, 08:55 AM
chogenkiboy wrote:
>
>
> *Quote:*
>
> you could add a feat that searched the array of spells the
> Wizard could cast, and added 1 to the highest level. That would be the
> most complex thing to do, but once you did it it would work
> automatically without you changing an adjustment every few levels.
>
>
>
> I'd like to take a stab at this, but I haven't delved deep enough into
> HL scripting or HL file structures to know where to start off the top of
> my head... any hints?


This script in the "Post-Attributes (User)" phase should do the trick:


~ Find the highest spell level we can use
var i as number
var highest as number
for i = 0 to 9
if (hero.child[cHelpWiz].field[cMemMax].arrayvalue[i] <> 0) then
highest = i
endif
next

~ Add 1 spell to that level
hero.child[cHelpWiz].field[cMemMax].arrayvalue[highest] += 1



Hope this helps!

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Colen is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
chogenkiboy
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 43

Old December 23rd, 2008, 10:08 AM
I noticed another way handle the Generalist Wizardry bonus spell per day using the Adjust tab:
Add a Permanent Adjustment for Spells Cast Per Day, select Wizard and set Cast@Lvl to the highest spell level the Elf Wizard currently knows... needs to be updated anytime the Elf Wizard gains access to a new spell level, but this option has the advantage that the mechanics are already built into Hero Lab... I'll probably still toy with implementing a self-managing feat, but I thought I'd share this workaround.
Cheers
chogenkiboy is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.