Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Illvatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 26

Old August 13th, 2008, 05:41 PM
I'm looking to setup several feats that require specific prerequisites, as indicated in the title. I know, for instance, that I can check for weapon focus in general with "tagis[WepFocus.?]", but I will need to check proficiency, focus, and specialization for specific weapons. Does anyone know how I can do this?

Thanks,
Illvatar
Illvatar is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old August 14th, 2008, 12:24 AM
WepProf.? exists for any exotic weapon proficiencies, specific martial weapon proficiencies, or a class that grants a specified list of weapons.

#hasfeat[fWepSimple]
#hasfeat[fWepMart]

are the other items you're after.

Complain to Rob and Colen that WepSpec.? (along with WepGrFoc.? and WepGrSpec.?) don't exist, although by looking at the script for Weapon Focus, I can see how to make a version of those feats that does add the appropriate tag.

The way to find this is to add something that grants the proficiency you want (and I suggest you try getting at it multiple ways, for example Light Crossbow proficiency comes with fWepSimple, but a Wizard gains WepProf.wCrsLight), then View menu, Floating Info Windows, Show Hero Tags - keep that list up, and watch what's added as you add classes and feats.

Here's an example PreReq from Pathfinder 8 - the class in question requires proficiency in any type of crossbow:

Code:
if (hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsHand] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsHeavy] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsLight] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsRpHvy] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsRpLgt] + #hasfeat[fWepSimple] <> 0) then
@valid = 1
endif
or, to find an exotic weapon proficiency:
Code:
if (tagis[WepProf.wPFSawtoot] <> 0) then
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Illvatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 26

Old August 14th, 2008, 02:51 AM
That sounds great, but I can't figure out how to get Floating Info Windows to highlight so I can select it. Any ideas?

<edit>
Ah, I have to turn on Data File Debugging. I've been working without that so far. I suspect this will help a lot. Thanks mgehl.
</edit>
Illvatar is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old August 19th, 2008, 08:29 AM
At 01:24 AM 8/14/2008, you wrote:
Quote:
Here's an example PreReq from Pathfinder 8 - the class in question requires proficiency in any type of crossbow:

Code:

if (hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsHand] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsHeavy] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsLight] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsRpHvy] + hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrsRpLgt] + #hasfeat[fWepSimple] <> 0) then
@valid = 1
endif
Don't forget that you can use wildcards on the tag templates. If all crossbow proficiencies are of the form "wCrsXXXXX", then you can use "WepProf.wCrs?" to reference all of them. So the above code could be simplified to:

if (hero.tagis[WepProf.wCrs>] + #hasfeat[fWepSimple] <> 0) then
* @valid = 1
* endif

In addition to being simpler, if someone adds a new crossbow proficiency, the code works without needing any changes.
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old August 19th, 2008, 08:32 AM
At 03:51 AM 8/14/2008, you wrote:
Quote:
That sounds great, but I can't figure out how to get Floating Info Windows to highlight so I can select it. Any ideas?
I don't understand. Please clarify. [Maybe it's because my brain is still in a fog from GenCon - we just got home late last night.]
rob is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old August 19th, 2008, 10:39 AM
Rob, his edited version answered his own question.

I forgot to tell him that the floating info windows are only available if you have debugging turned on. From experience in AB and CV, I knew to turn on debugging as soon as I got HL, and I can forget about that when I'm analyzing a product.

Rob, may I suggest a section at the beginning of the authoring documentation covering things like what the debugging tools can offer, how to access them, and details of how to write additional files, namely that you can't edit the files in the source folder, you have to create a new file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob
At 03:51 AM 8/14/2008, you wrote:
Quote:
That sounds great, but I can't figure out how to get Floating Info Windows to highlight so I can select it. Any ideas?
I don't understand. Please clarify. [Maybe it's because my brain is still in a fog from GenCon - we just got home late last night.]
Mathias is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.