Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 24th, 2016, 05:13 PM
See subject. I need to be able to assign in a script the tag value of one of the 6 ability scores depending on the class taken. Hopefully without having to set up a if/elseif construct of nightmares.
Quintain is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old January 24th, 2016, 05:33 PM
If I am understanding your meaning, it's defined on the class helper for each class that gets spells/powers. The default attribute is usually set by a linkage, and you can override it with a tag.
Aaron is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 24th, 2016, 05:46 PM
Ok, that part I understand.

Is the syntax for grabbing that value and assigning it to a variable

var aKAb as string

aKAb = linkage[psiattr].value <-- for psionics

and the spellcasting version "linkage[spellattr].value <--- for spellcasters?

or perhaps: linkage[varies].field[psiattr].value

Last edited by Quintain; January 24th, 2016 at 05:55 PM.
Quintain is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 24th, 2016, 06:05 PM
As near as I can tell, the "psiattr" field for manifesters (psionics) is analogous to the "spellattr" field for spellcasters.

But I can't get the linkage syntax right to assign a string variable the text of "aWIS" if Wisdom is the primary manifesting ability for that class (such as a psychic warrior).
Quintain is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
DeltaMasterMind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 412

Old January 26th, 2016, 08:48 AM
I never managed to get that far either when setting up the Archivist archetype. Instead I just built up a new slate under archetype and then used the button under Override spell-casting attribute/override psionics attribute. Of course you can set the class to modify with the archetype setting, but if you are planning a new class altogether then it should be easy to just set the attribute. I am guessing you don't want to use the archetype and thus are trying to override the attribute directly. I probably am wrong about your intentions, alas I never have come across that script yet. I do hope the above info helps you out though.

Forum link for my content work:
Pathfinder Thread
Forum link for SU 5e content work:
5e Steven Universe Thread
This link is for my group, but feel free to play it with:
DMM 5e | "https://www.dropbox.com/s/vsd9w1eodlnwjq0/updatesDMM.xml?dl=1" Copy this link to your update manager to get updates when available.
This adds the Pisky subrace to elves from Berserk! and additional subraces for the Gem Race.
Please post comments in the provided threads above.
DeltaMasterMind is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old January 26th, 2016, 10:47 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quintain View Post
As near as I can tell, the "psiattr" field for manifesters (psionics) is analogous to the "spellattr" field for spellcasters.

But I can't get the linkage syntax right to assign a string variable the text of "aWIS" if Wisdom is the primary manifesting ability for that class (such as a psychic warrior).
Where is the code running from? Assuming it runs from something not the class helper, I would try:

Code:
doneif (hero.childfound[WHATEVERCLASSHELPER].islinkage[psiattr] = 0)

var randstring as string

if (hero.childfound[WHATEVERCLASSHELPER].linkage[psiattr].tagis[IsAttr.aWIS] <> 0) then
  randstring = "aWIS"
  endif

debug "randstring is " & randstring

~ Do whatever you need with that string
Aaron is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 26th, 2016, 06:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
Where is the code running from? Assuming it runs from something not the class helper, I would try:

Code:
doneif (hero.childfound[WHATEVERCLASSHELPER].islinkage[psiattr] = 0)

var randstring as string

if (hero.childfound[WHATEVERCLASSHELPER].linkage[psiattr].tagis[IsAttr.aWIS] <> 0) then
  randstring = "aWIS"
  endif

debug "randstring is " & randstring

~ Do whatever you need with that string
Aaron:
1) We won't know what class helper to test for. Is there a way to pull the current class helper value?
2) Is there a way to directly assign the "aWis" to a string instead of testing for it's existence? -- or is chaining this 'if' statement to test for all three manifesting stats the only method available?

Delta,

This is just a feat that reassigns the attribute used to calculate the DC to something different than the original. The concept is simple, but it seems the execution of the concept is a bit more difficult than expected.

Last edited by Quintain; January 26th, 2016 at 07:23 PM.
Quintain is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 26th, 2016, 07:49 PM
I saw on a differrent post that "linkage[varies]" is the same as hero.childfound

Ok, so my goal is to replace the default wisdom modifier with the highest "key ability modifier" of all the character's manifester classes in the DC calculation of the Unwilling Participant feat. With that in mind, here's my logic:

Code:
doneif (linkage[varies].islinkage[psiattr] = 0)

var vKAb as number
var vINT as number
var vWIS as number
var vCHA as number


if (linkage[varies].linkage[psiattr].tagis[IsAttr.aINT] <> 0) then
  vINT = #attrmod[aINT]
elseif (linkage[varies].linkage[psiattr].tagis[IsAttr.aCHA] <> 0) then
  vCHA = #attrmod[aCHA]
endif
  vWIS = #attrmod[aWIS]

  vKAb = maximum(maximum(vINT,vCHA),vWIS)

  #dc[fPUUnwillP] += 1 + (vKAb - vWIS)

Last edited by Quintain; January 26th, 2016 at 07:53 PM.
Quintain is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 26th, 2016, 07:57 PM
With the above, I'm getting the following error:

Linkage pick 'varies' not located for current context
Location: 'eval' script for Thing 'fPAFImpUP' (Eval Script '#1') near line 4

So it looks like I'll have to use a foreach and loop through all the manifester classes on the character. Or perhaps allow the player to pick the attribute.
Quintain is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Quintain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 546

Old January 26th, 2016, 08:17 PM
Alas, I've decided to give up on the method above. I just let the user choose the attribute that modifies the DC.
Quintain is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.