Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ualaa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada.
Posts: 721

Old May 31st, 2019, 07:39 PM
Odd then, sorry.
Not a clue on what it could be then.

I figured you potentially had a download of the program.
But that it hadn't asked for your registration credentials, or some such.
Ualaa is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 779

Old May 31st, 2019, 09:28 PM
Can you post a screenshot of the error message?
Minous is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 281

Old June 1st, 2019, 11:57 AM
I tried installing the 32-bit version over itself. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the 32-bit version. I installed the 64-bit beta. All exhibit the same behavior.

I then tried downloading the portfolios again from the online repository thinking the files might have been corrupted somehow. Also the same error message.

Other files that I have for this AP that are from the same ZIP archive all seem to open and save despite orphaned elements. Very weird.

I've attached a screen grab of the dialog I'm getting. I'm completely out of ideas.
Attached Images
File Type: png NoSaveDialog.PNG (137.4 KB, 10 views)
JustinThomason is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 281

Old June 1st, 2019, 01:08 PM
Okay - new wrinkle. I downloaded the files that I attached up thread, and when I opened those in Hero Lab I did not get the orphaned elements error and I was able to save after an edit no problem.

Just for yucks, I'm going to attach one of the other portfolios to this post and try downloading it to see what happens.

EDIT

Yeah - once I downloaded it from the post and opened it, it behaves as it should. The file I uploaded does not save. So very weird...
Attached Files
File Type: email Day 16 - The Frozen Bloom.por (259.8 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by JustinThomason; June 1st, 2019 at 01:11 PM.
JustinThomason is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,382

Old June 1st, 2019, 02:46 PM
Are the files stored in a different place? Maybe there is something about where you have the non-saveable files stored that prevents them being saved?

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,227

Old June 1st, 2019, 03:10 PM
Have you tried copying a file to a flash drive or cloud service and pulling it back in?



Currently Running: Pathfinder Second Edition
Currently Playing:
Pathfinder First Edition
Former Games: D&D (4e & 5e), Mutants & Masterminds (2E & 3E), Savage Worlds
charlieluce is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
DaveM
Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 52

Old June 1st, 2019, 03:59 PM
Could there be anything unusual about the folder you have the portfolios in now? "unusual" in this case could mean anything from non-standard permissions (e.g. read-write, or admin only), to a particularly long path name or one that has unusual characters in it.
DaveM is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 281

Old June 1st, 2019, 05:12 PM
The files have been stored where other, behaving files have been stored. I had the thought about permissions, and checked that - nothing out of the ordinary.

I just tried copying to a flash drive and that seemed to do the trick. I think that's a work around.

Thanks to everyone for the help on this!
JustinThomason is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Minous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 779

Old June 1st, 2019, 05:51 PM
you might try resetting permissions on the entire directory/folder. Ive seen things get out of wack before.
Minous is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
JustinThomason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 281

Old June 1st, 2019, 06:07 PM
Got the files moved to a flash drive, then back to a new folder location and that seems to have totally fixed it. I went through and resaved everything without a problem.

I'm just going to delete the problematic folder. I'm just glad I didn't have to rebuild all 40 something portfolios from scratch!
JustinThomason is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.