Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
The_Livewire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 7

Old August 30th, 2018, 03:47 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by quistar View Post
Just my two cents...

I prefer Hero Lab as a stand-alone program so I can use it without having to rely on an internet connection. If I lose that, I can't use the program. Also saves on bandwidth. Just something to think about.

Andrew <:-{}
I'll third this. HLO looks nice, but I prefer my systems contained on my computer.
The_Livewire is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Krothos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 330

Old August 30th, 2018, 06:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triskavanski View Post
Pretty much the same here too. I usually make a character on my main PC, transfer over to my laptop and go with it there. If I don't have an internet connection it doesn't matter.
For me as well why I'm not interested in migrating to HLO if/when LW releases PF1 on that platform.
Krothos is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Geodragon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24

Old August 31st, 2018, 06:26 AM
And I, on the other hand will enjoy using my *Android* tablet and using HLO at the table instead of lugging the laptop. I just want the additional licenses so I can have two devices on at same time.
Geodragon is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
The_Livewire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 7

Old August 31st, 2018, 02:45 PM
Fortunately, it's not an either/or proposition
The_Livewire is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 1,979

Old September 1st, 2018, 01:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Livewire View Post
Fortunately, it's not an either/or proposition
There's been no mention that characters (.por files) will be transferrable between the two systems.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
Fuzzy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 409

Old September 1st, 2018, 03:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geodragon View Post
And I, on the other hand will enjoy using my *Android* tablet and using HLO at the table instead of lugging the laptop. I just want the additional licenses so I can have two devices on at same time.
RDP from my android tablet or phone to my HLC running at home - been doing this for 5 years or more.
Fuzzy is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Toblakai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 360

Old September 2nd, 2018, 12:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
RDP from my android tablet or phone to my HLC running at home - been doing this for 5 years or more.
This would be considerable more bandwidth that HLO would be, plus you need to open your home network to the outside not for the non-tech savy to do securely unless you use a service like Team viewer.

I think they said HLO will uses about 100kB per hour vs approximately 25-50MB per hour for RDP, so only good if you have unlimited data or a wifi connection.
Toblakai is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
Fuzzy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 409

Old September 2nd, 2018, 07:32 PM
For graphics light programs, like Hero Lab (especially if you flatten out some of the 'textured' background images, as I have), RDP does not use much data at all.
Fuzzy is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Toblakai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 360

Old September 3rd, 2018, 11:12 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
For graphics light programs, like Hero Lab (especially if you flatten out some of the 'textured' background images, as I have), RDP does not use much data at all.
It is still order(s) of magnitude more than 100k.
Toblakai is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,387

Old September 8th, 2018, 05:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farling View Post
There's been no mention that characters (.por files) will be transferrable between the two systems.
Yes there has. They've said their planning a portability feature for shared data sets. They haven't said exactly how it's projected to work, though.
EightBitz is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.