Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
DaveM
Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 32

Old April 18th, 2019, 10:05 AM
In preparation for an upcoming 64-bit release of Hero Lab, we are updating some of our underlying code libraries. While this SHOULD NOT affect anything within the existing program, we would like to verify this with as many people as possible. To this end, we are releasing a new BETA version of Hero Lab for Windows. This version should be functionally identical to the prior version, but has some updated graphics libraries. Anyone looking at this version should pay particular attention to anything involving images, e.g. character portraits, print preview, etc. and if you see any problems please contact our support or post in this forum.

The beta may be downloaded from:
https://www.wolflair.com/download/pl...in_install.exe

Note that the Mac version does not have the same issues as the Windows version, so no beta is required for that platform.

If necessary, it would be completely safe to revert to the prior released version of Hero Lab.
DaveM is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Asandir
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 326

Old April 20th, 2019, 05:01 AM
loaded up the beta and so far no issues.

Minutus cantorum, minutus balorum, minutus carborata descendum pantorum.
Asandir is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Krothos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 330

Old April 26th, 2019, 06:43 AM
Does HL 8.8h BETA support the new version of the PDF plug-in (1.8)? I have tried installing it but HL keeps reporting a new version is available.
Krothos is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Tekwych
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 161

Old April 26th, 2019, 02:33 PM
Quit HL. Run the installer. Relaunch HL. Should fix it.
Tekwych is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Krothos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 330

Old April 27th, 2019, 11:27 AM
Did exactly this. Installation was quit and indicated successful, but launching HL BETA afterwards still showed the PDF plug-in 1.8 was still available.
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled1.png (41.5 KB, 7 views)
File Type: png Untitled2.png (38.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: png Untitled3.png (69.3 KB, 6 views)
Krothos is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,533

Old April 27th, 2019, 11:53 AM
Just an idea - could there be more than one copy of HL installed on your computer in different folders, so that when the pdf plug-in installed, it ended up modifying the "other" copy, which isn't the one you launched, so that this copy doesn't register the update?


Also, are you able to print to pdf? Did the installation work, but it's not registering that it worked?
Mathias is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Jareth Valar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38

Old April 27th, 2019, 04:42 PM
I am having the exact same issue.

According to everthing I can find I only have one copy of Hero Lab installed.

Also, I can both preview and save to pdf
Jareth Valar is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
MadCat75
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mary Esther, Florida
Posts: 61
Send a message via Skype™ to MadCat75

Old April 27th, 2019, 04:54 PM
I'm having the same issue, i only have one copy of HL installed.Though the pdf plug-in is working properly, it just keeps showing i need to download the 1.8 update.
MadCat75 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Krothos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 330

Old April 27th, 2019, 05:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Just an idea - could there be more than one copy of HL installed on your computer in different folders, so that when the pdf plug-in installed, it ended up modifying the "other" copy, which isn't the one you launched, so that this copy doesn't register the update?


Also, are you able to print to pdf? Did the installation work, but it's not registering that it worked?
I only have one install of HL. The BETA installation upgraded/overwrote the previous released version installed.

The "Save PDF of Hero" option works. The "Print Hero" only gives me the option to my HP printer (which also works).
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled4.png (30.8 KB, 2 views)
Krothos is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Lurker37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2

Old April 27th, 2019, 07:37 PM
This isn't a beta issue - it's happening on the live version ( v8.8h ) as well.

to reproduce:

open Hero Lab.

Look at bottom panel to see this Notification: "New(1): PDF Plug-In for Windows (V1.8)"

Click on "find updates"

Select PDF Plug-In for Windows (V1.8)

Click on Download

you can either
  • launch update("Yes"), get the error, close Hero Lab, retry
    OR
  • close Update ("No"), Close Hero Lab, go to "C:\ProgramData\Hero Lab\download\" and run pdfcanvas18_win_install.exe

Run the install process.

Check Windows Settings - > Apps to confirm PDF Canvas has installed successfully

Re-open Hero Lab

Look at bottom panel to see this Notification: "New(1): PDF Plug-In for Windows (V1.8)"

Hypothesis: Hero Lab Updater has an icorrect name/registry key for the plug-in.
Lurker37 is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.