Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 18th, 2012, 12:19 PM
I've been working on adding the Initiate feats from FR, and I've hit a snag.

Initiate of Shar adds Bluff and Hide as class skills, the same way the Trickery Domain does. It works like a charm for clerics, but when I try to assign the feat to a ranger character I get errors — since the linkage[table] tag is for clerics.

I imagine there may also be issues with multi-class characters, since hero.assign[kxxxx] would add the skills to all of my classes instead of just the divine spellcasting class the feat is meant to affect.

So, I guess, first I need a selector, then I need a way to assign the skills as class skills only for the class I select.

The problem: I don't know how to do that.
GLBIV is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old September 19th, 2012, 04:43 AM
When creating a feat, there is a section for 'Item Selection'. You can choose "Classes" for 'Select From...' and "Picks on Hero" for 'Restrict To...'. That will get you the chooser. Then you should be able to change the linkage to pick from the chosen item (usually something like usrChosen1) instead of clerics.

Last edited by Sendric; September 19th, 2012 at 05:07 AM.
Sendric is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 19th, 2012, 05:39 AM
Great, so the script will look something like:

~add our class skills to selected class
perform linkage[usrChosen1].assign[kBluff]
perform linkage[usrChosen1].assign[kHide]

That look right?

Also, how can I find out for sure what HL calls my selected class?
GLBIV is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old September 19th, 2012, 05:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLBIV View Post
Great, so the script will look something like:

~add our class skills to selected class
perform linkage[usrChosen1].assign[kBluff]
perform linkage[usrChosen1].assign[kHide]

That look right?

Also, how can I find out for sure what HL calls my selected class?
In theory, I think it would look like that, yes. When you have the feat selected in your portfolio, right-click on it, and select "Show Debug Fields for [feat name]". Then you can look for the field name that shows the class you selected.
Sendric is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 19th, 2012, 05:53 AM
Great, thanks.
GLBIV is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 19th, 2012, 05:24 PM
I've been wrestling with this for a while. I can't find the field that is supposed to be my selected item.

I set up the selector in the editor as described above, then I selected the feat and looked at the debug fields. The problem is, none of the fields show the selection I make, with the exception of xName and short name. Those can't be the right fields.

Is there another script I need to use to set up the selection as a field?
GLBIV is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old September 19th, 2012, 05:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLBIV View Post
I've been wrestling with this for a while. I can't find the field that is supposed to be my selected item.

I set up the selector in the editor as described above, then I selected the feat and looked at the debug fields. The problem is, none of the fields show the selection I make, with the exception of xName and short name. Those can't be the right fields.

Is there another script I need to use to set up the selection as a field?
Sorry. I couldn't find it either, but I took a look at some other feats and adjustments and came up with this:

Code:
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kBluff]
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kHide]
Set timing to First/1000. I tested this and it does work.
Sendric is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 20th, 2012, 05:20 AM
Code:
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kBluff]
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kHide]
OK, cool.

I had all of that except ".chosen." between the field call and the assignment.

I guess that's why I was getting an "fChosen is undefined" message. I just need to get a better handle on this language.

Thanks for the help.
GLBIV is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old September 20th, 2012, 06:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLBIV View Post
Code:
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kBluff]
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kHide]
OK, cool.

I had all of that except ".chosen." between the field call and the assignment.

I guess that's why I was getting an "fChosen is undefined" message. I just need to get a better handle on this language.

Thanks for the help.
I think I got that from the Class Skill adjustment. I just sort of played around with things until I got something that compiled ok, then changed the timing until something worked. All of my coding comes down to copy and paste, and if that fails, trial and error (mostly error).
Sendric is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
GLBIV
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 76

Old September 20th, 2012, 07:10 AM
No joke, that's the boat I'm in.

This makes sense though.

what I had:
perform linkage[fChosen].assign[kBluff]

was (I think) saying "Select a cereal, pour milk."

what you have:
perform field[fChosen].chosen.assign[ClassSkill.kBluff]

is (I think) saying "Select a cereal, what is it?, pour milk on that cereal you selected"

crazy robot language.
GLBIV is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.