Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Online Forums > Hero Lab Online Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AwakenedSpirit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 1

Old October 2nd, 2020, 10:56 AM
I just activated a demo account for Hero Labs because I'm hoping to GM for a StarFinder campaign and wanted to try HL out before purchasing it, I made an account and went through the process but never did it ask me about a Device Nickname, and now that I'm going to log in to HL online it wants a device nickname after I put in my User and Password. What am I missing here?
AwakenedSpirit is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Ryan F
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 101

Old October 2nd, 2020, 12:00 PM
Hello AwakenedSpirit,

The Device Nickname field can be filled out however you choose as long as you ensure that each different Browser or Device you access Hero Lab Online from uses a unique Nickname.

So for example my setup is currently:
Work PC Chrome Browser: WorkLaptop Chrome
Work PC Firefox Browser: WorkLaptop Firefox
Work PC Edge Browser: WorkLaptop Edge
Gaming PC Chrome Browser: Gaming Chrome
Gaming PC Firefox Browser: Gaming Firefox
Phone Chrome Browser: Phone Chrome
... and so on.

The only time you should ever see any errors when entering something in that area is if you use the same Nickname that's already been used in another Browser/Device which you access the service from or fail to enter any text into that field in the first place.
Ryan F is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Thrawn82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 18

Old October 7th, 2020, 08:59 AM
This can also be an issue in the case of an internet disconnect. the server thinks the device is still logged in and so won't let you log back in using the same device nickname
Thrawn82 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old October 16th, 2020, 04:06 AM
The server should never deny a new login. The device nickname is there so that we can send a message to previous device when you login to a device with a different name. So I don't understand the statement here.

Can you please explain the details of this more fully? Ideally, open a support ticket and provide the steps you're taking that cause the problem. Then we can task someone with chasing it down and getting it fixed.

Thanks!
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.