Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Card Vault Forums > Card Vault

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Oni-no-Uh-Oh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14

Old June 5th, 2008, 04:39 PM
Sorry to nag, but I really need an answer to this...

"The following errors occurred: Out of memory"

Why am I suddenly getting this ^ message when I try to open Card Vault? My memory is taxed no more than it usually is when I run Card Vault.

It's only happening when I try to open my L5R files.
Oni-no-Uh-Oh is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,795

Old June 5th, 2008, 11:07 PM
If it's just a single game system of all the systems you have loaded, I'd guess something got corrupted. I'd start by opening card vault with another data file loaded, then use the updates to re-download L5R.

If not, go to Cardvault's folder (c:/CardVault on my computer), go to the cache folder, then the L5R folder, and delete all the images - images are often a memory-intensive thing, and if something's wrong with one of them, that might be the problem.

If not that, go to C:/CardVault/data, then go into the L5R folder, move inv.cvz (the file that stores your inventory) somewhere else, move back to C:/CardVault/data, and delete the whole L5R folder. Then, go into Card Vault and re-download the files, then move your inventory file back into the appropriate folder, and try that. Hopefully a clean install might solve it if nothing else does.

P.S. your first message didn't mention that it was a single one of your datafiles that was causing trouble. I have some ideas on how to deal with that sort of problem, but if the program in general is wacky, I don't know how to deal with that sort of thing.

If those don't help, I'm afraid you'll have to wait for Rob of Colen to check the forums, and they're hard at work producing the next version of HeroLab.
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Oni-no-Uh-Oh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14

Old June 5th, 2008, 11:56 PM
Thanks for the help.

You mentioned something about corrupted stuff. If that's the case, it would have to be in the Words & Deeds file I just added. It was working fine before that (although this same file opens fine with CVEdit). I guess I'll remove that file and see if that helps.

Most of the time, the error message is pretty clear and I can locate the problem and fix it. This "out of memory" stuff is like, I don't know...a little vague for a NON-expert like me.

Thanks again.

P.S. I edited in the part about the L5R files after my initial post - you probably read it before the edit.
Oni-no-Uh-Oh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Oni-no-Uh-Oh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14

Old June 6th, 2008, 08:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oni-no-Uh-Oh
...I guess I'll remove that file and see if that helps...
Well...so much for that. :roll:

Okay, here's another question - no doubt a stupid one...

Is there a limit on how much information CV can handle?
I have done some pretty extensive work on my L5R files. :mrgreen:
Oni-no-Uh-Oh is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,718

Old June 7th, 2008, 01:48 PM
Oni-no-Uh-Oh wrote:
>
>
> *Oni-no-Uh-Oh wrote:*
> ...I guess I'll remove that file and see if that helps...
>
>
>
> Well...so much for that. Rolling Eyes
>
> Okay, here's another question - no doubt a stupid one...
>
> Is there a limit on how much information CV can handle?
> I have done some pretty extensive work on my L5R files. Mr. Green


I don't think you should be running into any limits like that. I have a
question - what other programs do you have open on your computer when
Card Vault gives you the error? What if you close a few programs?

If you reboot then run Card Vault before opening any other programs,
does the error still occur?

If there are a lot of programs open, Windows can get into a state where
it runs out of window handles, and so when Card Vault tries to create
windows it can't (and unhelpfully reports this as an 'out of memory' error).


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Oni-no-Uh-Oh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14

Old June 7th, 2008, 03:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen
...I have a question - what other programs
do you have open on your computer
when Card Vault gives you the error?
What if you close a few programs?...
That was one of the first things I tried but it didn't help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen
...If you reboot then run Card Vault before opening
any other programs, does the error still occur?...
I tried that too. I just tried it again to be sure but
the error is still occurring.
Oni-no-Uh-Oh is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Oni-no-Uh-Oh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14

Old June 10th, 2008, 03:19 AM
Any more suggestions?
Oni-no-Uh-Oh is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.