Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,518

Old March 1st, 2017, 05:29 PM
It should just be some Field ID that you would set. Like for weapons (or, anything actually) you can replace the name by setting a Field ID of "livename" and then filling in the Value with what you wanted to change it to. I'm not really sure what the name for the Trappings/Description field is, though. I'm not at the computer where I could check that, but for some reason I thought there was already a field in there for that. Maybe even domDomain? I know that one is used for Knowledge skills but I thought it was commonly used in other things, too.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Soon
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first)
Unofficial Files (PM me to get a copy if you need it)
Necropolis (NOT Necropolis 2350. I have the version from when it was still a PEG, Inc. property but I have 2350 and I have been looking at updating to that version in the near future.)
zarlor is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885

Old March 1st, 2017, 07:07 PM
It would be the powTraps field but it complains when you try to assign it.

Quote:
Hero Lab was forced to stop compilation after the following errors were detected:

Thing 'edgpowtrpz' - Bootstrap value assignment is not allowed for 'user' types on 'unique' things for field 'powTraps'
So the answer is "no".

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
Paragon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 675

Old March 2nd, 2017, 06:54 AM
Its not that big a deal; since I'm putting together portfolios for use with the encounter builder, I can just set it in the portfolio. But it'd be nice to be able to embody it in the extent "things" when you know in advance what the trappings will always be.
Paragon is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,518

Old March 2nd, 2017, 07:34 AM
If I pull up a power in the Editor there is a line for "Trappings Description" which maps to a FieldID of powTraps and I can put anything I want in there, either as examples of trappings or an exact trapping I want to list and I can do that on any power I have in there. It seems odd it doesn't let you redefine that field when you do a boostrap with it, though. Although if you are doing portfolios anyway I think Powers by default mark a default Trapping in red, as if it expects the listed trapping is an example but it wants the player to deliberately pick one, so you may still see a bit of strangeness even if you did set a default trapping.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Soon
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first)
Unofficial Files (PM me to get a copy if you need it)
Necropolis (NOT Necropolis 2350. I have the version from when it was still a PEG, Inc. property but I have 2350 and I have been looking at updating to that version in the near future.)
zarlor is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885

Old March 2nd, 2017, 04:41 PM
Yeah, I think that they forgot to put in that use case scenario when designing it. I bet it started as a character builder and the rest was added on later.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 919

Old March 2nd, 2017, 04:49 PM
resPowers is the counter for the number of Arcane Powers a character has. It does not become active unless a character has an Arcane Background. Simply bootstrap either the Edge that grants that AB (Psionics?), or directly bootstrap the Arcane Background itself to the creature.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers, Pathfinder (Way of the Wicked)
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds
CapedCrusader is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Paragon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 675

Old March 3rd, 2017, 05:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapedCrusader View Post
resPowers is the counter for the number of Arcane Powers a character has. It does not become active unless a character has an Arcane Background. Simply bootstrap either the Edge that grants that AB (Psionics?), or directly bootstrap the Arcane Background itself to the creature.
Yeah, it was an easy fix, and honestly, one I should have thought about when putting the creature together. I was just surprised it didn't throw an error in the editor.
Paragon is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885

Old March 3rd, 2017, 08:14 PM
The editor only checks for valid code, not that the things works like it should. For all it knows you have whatever you need already on the creature to make it work.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,518

Old March 4th, 2017, 05:19 AM
Yeah, I'd say the editor will give errors for those things contained in the entry you were working on or sometimes those related to it. You can also get errors when you "Compile Data Files" for those items that have interactions with other items, so it's more of an entire data file error check. Finally you can also run into errors on selecting a setting to start a new character because of interactions between things that only get checked once they try to be used, like this instances (which is pretty much the same reason I had that error in the ETU file that I hadn't noticed before.) So it's really about when things interact as to when you might see the errors.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Soon
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first)
Unofficial Files (PM me to get a copy if you need it)
Necropolis (NOT Necropolis 2350. I have the version from when it was still a PEG, Inc. property but I have 2350 and I have been looking at updating to that version in the near future.)
zarlor is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.