Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
dartnet
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 531

Old February 12th, 2017, 07:38 AM
How would you script it so lets say an edges needs Knowledge: Science, Navigation, or Occult at a d6?
dartnet is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 891

Old February 12th, 2017, 10:48 AM
Ah, this is a reason why I stopped making players fill in their Knowledge skills six years ago. I figured out what Knowledge skills were needed, by definition being those that are asked for by an Edge, and I made it be a skill. Then I modified Scholar to account for it. I also added in a few more. Not all of them get used every single campaign, but they are there and it makes times like this really easy. The other reason is that it is annoying to have to fill out the knowledge field every time. Plus, I can easily have a race add a specific knowledge.

So, I would script them like any other three skills.

You get to go through the validation rigamarole and make it look for those three skills, and if it has them, add to the count. Offhand, I think that Tactician does it for Knowledge: Battle. You would copy that, and make three parts to look for those instead of Knowledge: Battle.

You are lucky that it is for an "or". If it was an "and", you get to have three versions of the script, one per knowledge skill.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 994

Old February 12th, 2017, 04:25 PM
How about this?

Code:
      var totalcount as number
      totalcount = 0
      foreach pick in hero where "thingid.skKnow"
          if (compare(lowercase(eachpick.field[domDomain].text),"science") = 0) then
            if (eachpick.field[trtFinal].value >= 3) then
              totalcount += 1
              endif
          endif
          if (compare(lowercase(eachpick.field[domDomain].text),"occult") = 0) then
            if (eachpick.field[trtFinal].value >= 3) then
              totalcount += 1
              endif
          endif
          if (compare(lowercase(eachpick.field[domDomain].text),"navigation") = 0) then
            if (eachpick.field[trtFinal].value >= 3) then
              totalcount += 1
              endif
          endif
        nexteach
      validif (totalcount >= 1)
A little clunky, I'll admit, but it should work. And if you wanted to check if it was two of them, change the (totalcount >= 1) to (totalcount >= 2), or 3 for all 3.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers, Pathfinder (Way of the Wicked)
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds

Last edited by CapedCrusader; February 12th, 2017 at 04:31 PM.
CapedCrusader is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.