Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
dartnet
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548

Old February 11th, 2017, 02:22 PM
How would I script a prerequisite a character having the major version of a Hindrances but allow the minor version of the Hindrance?
dartnet is online now   #1 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,651

Old February 11th, 2017, 02:41 PM
There should be a field for it, set to "field[hinMajor].value = 1" if true.
So at a guess you could start figuring it out from something like:

Code:
   foreach pick in hero from Hindrance
      validif (eachpick.field[hinMajor].value <> 0)
   nexteach
Well, something in that vein, anyway, although that example would validate on any Major hindrance so you'd presumably knock it down to just the Hindrance you want. Maybe something like this to narrow down to just the hindrance you need:

Code:
   foreach pick in hero from Hindrance
      if (hero.tagis[Hin.hinNCNepot] <> 0)
         validif (eachpick.field[hinMajor].value <> 0)
      endif
   nexteach
if (@ispick <> 0) then
   altpick.linkvalid = 0
endif
Or maybe there is a way to make that simpler, but I'm not quite sure on that right now. And I'm not positive if this is a situation where you would need the altpick code, but it probably wouldn't hurt anyway.

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Space 1889 (original file by Erich), Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Soon
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first)
Unofficial Files (PM me to get a copy if you need it)
Necropolis (NOT Necropolis 2350. I have the version from when it was still a PEG, Inc. property but I have 2350 and I have been looking at updating to that version in the near future.)
zarlor is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,101

Old February 11th, 2017, 04:06 PM
It's actually a tag. [User.HindMajor] Just assign that tag to the Hindrance when it's applied to the character in the Setting.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape, Savage Star Wars
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds
CapedCrusader is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
dartnet
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548

Old October 17th, 2017, 06:25 PM
How would I script it to have not allow a major version of the hindrance but not require the hindrance it's self.
dartnet is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,101

Old October 19th, 2017, 02:05 PM
In the validation, just check for the combination of the Hindrance tag and the HindMajor tag. If they both exist, throw the error.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape, Savage Star Wars
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds
CapedCrusader is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
dartnet
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548

Old October 19th, 2017, 02:49 PM
I seem to be getting an ID10T error on my end. I can get it to work but only if the hero takes the hindrance.
dartnet is online now   #6 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,101

Old October 20th, 2017, 02:14 PM
Is the validation on the Hindrance? Put it in a mechanic and attach it to the Setting.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape, Savage Star Wars
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds
CapedCrusader is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
dartnet
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548

Old Yesterday, 05:48 PM
But this is for a faction. That's why I am getting confused.
dartnet is online now   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.