Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - 4th Edition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Fippy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16

Old May 8th, 2016, 03:09 PM
With most recent version of 4e, I'm getting a huge list of armor errors:
(image attached).
How do I fix these errors?

I don't really care about the armor, but I think the errors are preventing the game files from compiling and hence loading a new race file I created, which was working in a previous version.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg herolab.jpg (330.9 KB, 4 views)
Fippy is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 721

Old May 9th, 2016, 10:09 AM
If you temporarily move your own .user files from the 4e directory, do you still get the errors?

Currently Running: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently playing: D&D4e,
Mutants & Masterminds (3rd edition)
Former Games:
Savage Worlds, Mutants & Masterminds (2nd edition)
charlieluce is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Fippy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16

Old May 9th, 2016, 08:10 PM
Let me try that, but what's the difference between the .dat and the .user files? I have a .user file for almost every .dat file, e.g. ddi_classes.dat, ddi_classes.user, ddi_feats.dat, ddi_feats.user.

I have *not* modified all those files. I only have 3 genuine .user files that I created.

Could I have remnants from long ago when I used to have to use the data loader?
Fippy is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 721

Old May 9th, 2016, 08:53 PM
We started 4e after the use of the downloader was discontinued, but I do have a ddidownloader folder that contains the .dat files (which do seem to contain Hero Lab XML); I tried moving that folder out of the Program Data folder and my 4e character looks to open normally.

You may need to save your custom files, delete 4e, and re-download it.

Currently Running: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently playing: D&D4e,
Mutants & Masterminds (3rd edition)
Former Games:
Savage Worlds, Mutants & Masterminds (2nd edition)
charlieluce is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
cryptoknight
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 519

Old May 10th, 2016, 04:16 PM
you definitely have remnants.

What I'd do is copy your own .user files out... then wipe the 4e directory and redownload.

When I took over publishing the data files, I renamed the .dat files to .user so people could edit them (.dat gets protected). If you didn't check the box to delete the files no in the package, then the .dat and .user files would have the same objects in them.

Herolab D&D 4e Themes and Bug Fixes: http://hl4e.cryptoknight.org
cryptoknight is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Fippy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16

Old May 10th, 2016, 08:18 PM
You guys rock. That solved the problem. Been using HeroLab for so long and never realized or thought of redownloading a complete game engine before. Thanks!
Fippy is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.