Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BoomerET
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 492
Send a message via ICQ to BoomerET Send a message via Yahoo to BoomerET Send a message via Skype™ to BoomerET

Old November 25th, 2013, 01:40 PM
I have a thing (Fighter class).

When the user selects the fighter class, a few items are bootstrapped, but there's a couple that I don't want on the class until they reach a certain level.

Code:
<eval value="1" phase="PreTraits" priority="5000">
   <before name="Calc trtFinal"/>
   <![CDATA[
      herofield[acCashNet].value = 24000
      herofield[acHPMax].value = 10
      #traitprisec[attrStr] = 1
      if (hero.child[resLevel].field[resMax].value >= 4) then
         perform assign[ClassAbil.abComDom]
         perform forward[ClassAbil.abExtAtt]
      elseif (hero.child[resLevel].field[resMax].value >= 10) then
         perform assign[ClassAbil.abExtAtt]
         perform forward[ClassAbil.abExtAtt]
      endif
   ]]>
</eval>
Doing this, I can then see Class.abComDom in the list of tags, but it doesn't appear in the list of abilities (populated on another tab, which does show the original bootstrapped items.

I also find it strange that I have to assign it, then forward.

Truthfully, I have limited understanding of the perform assign/forward commands.

Hope this make some sense, it's driving me crazy.


BoomerET

Castles & Crusades Ruleset for Hero Lab
Hero Lab (5E D&D) -> Fantasy Grounds Character Converter
BoomerET is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old November 25th, 2013, 02:11 PM
d20/pathfinder handles their class abilities by having them always be present, but each one has a tag to record what level it comes active at - each one checks the class it was added to, and if that tag's value is > the class' currently level, the ability disables and hides itself.

Last edited by Mathias; November 25th, 2013 at 02:18 PM. Reason: This way is a better way of accomplishing this than my original post
Mathias is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,633

Old November 25th, 2013, 04:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
d20/pathfinder handles their class abilities by having them always be present, but each one has a tag to record what level it comes active at - each one checks the class it was added to, and if that tag's value is > the class' currently level, the ability disables and hides itself.
So are you saying the abilities are enmassed to the hero and only activated if the right tags are present along with the level requirement?

RavenX Pronouns: She/Her

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.

I am far too busy these days to answer emails. If you message me here there is no guarantee I will get back to you at all.
RavenX is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
BoomerET
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 492
Send a message via ICQ to BoomerET Send a message via Yahoo to BoomerET Send a message via Skype™ to BoomerET

Old November 25th, 2013, 08:08 PM
Thanks Mathias, it's working beautifully now.


BoomerET

Castles & Crusades Ruleset for Hero Lab
Hero Lab (5E D&D) -> Fantasy Grounds Character Converter
BoomerET is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old November 26th, 2013, 06:56 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenX View Post
So are you saying the abilities are enmassed to the hero and only activated if the right tags are present along with the level requirement?
No, they're bootstrapped by the class, not enmassed, and then only activated if the right tags are present.
Mathias is online now   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.