Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 6th, 2011, 04:08 PM
I trying to make a weapon called Wand. I have it made but don't know how to set the Attack bonus to stay at zero. i'm new to eval scripts and can't get it to work.
please help.
falcarrion is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
chiefweasel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,321

Old July 7th, 2011, 09:01 AM
is this a special ability that reduces the attack bonus of its weilder to 0?

Web site - Cheese Weasel Logistics - www.cheeseweasel.net
Twitter - @CheeseWeaselGMZ
For user created content check out www.d20pfsrd.com and www.cheeseweasel.net
For video demos of Hero Lab go to http://www.youtube.com/user/TheChiefweasel?blend=9&ob=5
chiefweasel is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 7th, 2011, 10:52 AM
I'm creating a wand of magic missles that will show up with the rest of the weapons. to do this I needed to create a weapon called wand. Then I was able to create a magic weapon called magic missle. For now I have the Attack Modifier set to -6.

Weapon = Wand
Fields:
gWeight
wFixDamage 2d4+2
wAttBonus -6

Tags:
wMain 1d4_4
wProfReg simple
EquipType wood
wclass Light
wGroup cHelpDrd
cHelpMnk
cHelpWiz

Weapon,Magic = Wand of Magic Missles
total charges = 50
fields:
hTotal 50
gCost 100
wFixDamage 2d4+2
wAttBonus -6

Tags:
Helper EquipAvail
Helper EquipMag
gType Wand

Bootstraps:
Thing: Magic Missle (charge) hMagicMsl

Gizmo:
Enity Unique Id wSpecMagic
Bootstraps:
Thing: Wand(weapon) wWand
falcarrion is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 7th, 2011, 11:09 AM
I'm making a wand of magic missles that shows up under weapons.
file Wand.user

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<document signature="Hero Lab Data">
<thing id="wWand" name="Wand" compset="Weapon">
<fieldval field="gWeight" value="4"/>
<fieldval field="wFixDamage" value="2d4+2"/>
<fieldval field="wAttBonus" value="-6"/>
<tag group="wMain" tag="1d4_4"/>
<tag group="wProfReq" tag="Simple"/>
<tag group="EquipType" tag="Wood" name="Wood" abbrev="Wood"/>
<tag group="wClass" tag="Light" name="Light" abbrev="Light"/>
<tag group="wGroup" tag="cHelpDrd" name="Druid" abbrev="Druid"/>
<tag group="wGroup" tag="cHelpMnk" name="Monk" abbrev="Monk"/>
<tag group="wGroup" tag="cHelpWiz" name="Wizard" abbrev="Wizard"/>
</thing>
</document>

file Wand of MagicMissle.user
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<document signature="Hero Lab Data">
<thing id="imgcmssle" name="Wand of magic missles" description="\n\n• Magic missile (1 charge)" compset="MagicWep">
<fieldval field="hTotal" value="50"/>
<fieldval field="gCost" value="100"/>
<fieldval field="wFixDamage" value="2d4+2"/>
<fieldval field="wAttBonus" value="-6"/>
<tag group="Helper" tag="EquipAvail"/>
<tag group="Helper" tag="EquipMag" name="EquipMag" abbrev="EquipMag"/>
<tag group="gType" tag="Wand" name="Wand" abbrev="Wand"/>
<bootstrap thing="hMagicMsl">
<autotag group="ChargeUse" tag="1"/>
</bootstrap>
<child entity="wSpecMagic">
<bootstrap thing="wWand"></bootstrap>
</child>
</thing>
</document>
falcarrion is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,667

Old July 7th, 2011, 01:11 PM
You should be able to put in a eval script that does the following:
Code:
field[wAttBonus].value = 0
For phase and timing I would go with Pre-Attributes 10,000.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is online now   #5 Reply With Quote
Nigel Fogg The Wayfarer
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 364

Old July 7th, 2011, 03:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcarrion View Post
I'm making a wand of magic missles that shows up under weapons.
file Wand.user
...
Silly question....why do you want to make this as a weapon and not just as a regular magic item like other wands?

Nigel Fogg, aka The Wayfarer
Nigel Fogg The Wayfarer is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 7th, 2011, 08:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
You should be able to put in a eval script that does the following:
Code:
field[wAttBonus].value = 0
For phase and timing I would go with Pre-Attributes 10,000.
Thanks I'll give it a try.
falcarrion is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 7th, 2011, 09:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel Fogg The Wayfarer View Post
Silly question....why do you want to make this as a weapon and not just as a regular magic item like other wands?

Nigel Fogg, aka The Wayfarer
This way it shows up on the character sheet with the other weapons showing the damage amount. If I should pick up another wand of magic missles I could then have it show also with a different amout of damage. I then can keep easy track of the charges on each.
Basicly this becomes a template I can use when creating new and unusal types of wands.
For instant a toad wand. It fires out toads. The toads hit with enough force to do 1d6 damage.
falcarrion is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
falcarrion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11

Old July 7th, 2011, 10:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
You should be able to put in a eval script that does the following:
Code:
field[wAttBonus].value = 0
For phase and timing I would go with Pre-Attributes 10,000.
I must be doing something wrong as I can't get it to work.
how do I set up the timing?
I haven't done eval scripts before.
falcarrion is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
bodrin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,263

Old July 7th, 2011, 10:45 PM
In the editor you'll see an eval script button, when you click it a new window opens where you can enter the script. At the top is a dropdown selection boxes that says phase and at the side of that is the priority field. Put the relevent data in those, don't forget to test thing afterwards though.
Hope this helps!
bodrin is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.