Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Kairos
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 158

Old August 26th, 2017, 05:32 PM
Hey all:

Does anyone know how I might debug an error between RW and a HL portfolio? I was able to create a portfolio through RW on my custom HL ruleset, but when I try to edit it (edit externally), it throws the attached error.

The ruleset is fairly old now, so I'm sure the issue is there somehow, but was looking for more details on the error, and was wondering if there's a log or something.

Authoring kit data files available for testing (add these links as New Sources):
Kairos is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 861

Old August 26th, 2017, 06:07 PM
What error? nothings attached outside your sig.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,135

Old August 26th, 2017, 07:56 PM
When you do "Edit Externally", Realm Works writes the file to a temp folder and tells Hero Lab to open it. The temp folder is something like:

C:\Users\(your user)\AppData\Local\Temp\RealmWorks

Try to Edit Externally, then leave the error up in Hero Lab while you go find the portfolio file. Make a copy of it and you can work from there like you would with any other Hero Lab error.

Addition: I added a button to Realm Works Locations that will open the temp folder for you. The link is in my signature.


Last edited by Parody; August 27th, 2017 at 05:14 AM.
Parody is online now   #3 Reply With Quote
Kairos
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 158

Old August 27th, 2017, 05:26 AM
Thought I'd attached the SS, but missed the size limit warning. Anyway, it's HL related, not RW -- I get it when I try to open the .por directly from the filesystem too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error rw and hl.jpg (43.7 KB, 17 views)

Authoring kit data files available for testing (add these links as New Sources):
Kairos is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,135

Old August 27th, 2017, 10:00 AM
Since it happens outside of Realm Works, you should probably ask in the appropriate Hero Lab subforum.

An exception: if you can get to the point of "I attach this working Hero Lab portfolio to a Hero Lab snippet and it is immediately corrupted" or "I do (some steps) and it corrupts the Hero Lab portfolio", then it's time for a bug report.


Last edited by Parody; August 27th, 2017 at 10:09 AM.
Parody is online now   #5 Reply With Quote
Kairos
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 158

Old September 4th, 2017, 07:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parody View Post
Since it happens outside of Realm Works, you should probably ask in the appropriate Hero Lab subforum.

An exception: if you can get to the point of "I attach this working Hero Lab portfolio to a Hero Lab snippet and it is immediately corrupted" or "I do (some steps) and it corrupts the Hero Lab portfolio", then it's time for a bug report.
Yeah, no I confirmed it's a HL problem ... couldn't launch the portfolio via link from OneNote either -- same error.

Authoring kit data files available for testing (add these links as New Sources):
Kairos is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.