Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
heinrich_krebs
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54

Old January 30th, 2017, 01:14 AM
Hi,

I tried to create a new ECL5 character, with early entry into Mystic Theurge.

So, I wanted to start of with one level of Domain Wizard from Unearthed Arcana.
But I couldn't find it. The Sorcer/Wizard variant that gets Fighter bonus feats I found, however. So, I it not in there, or was I not looking hard enough.

Also, I would need Precautious Apprentice feat. I didn't find that either. That made my wonder, if I made something wrong...

Any advice?

Best regards,
Heinrich
heinrich_krebs is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old January 30th, 2017, 04:29 AM
Hello Heinrich

You didn't do anything wrong that I know of, those classes/feats are simply not completed. The process of adding to the database is handled by users, who volunteer their time, and in some cases is more complicated than you might think.

Anyway, if you have any coding skills, you could try inputting them yourself, with Tools>Show Editor, or if you aren't that computer savvy, put in a request to Sendric, and he will add it to the list.

Good luck

Erin
ErinRigh is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
heinrich_krebs
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54

Old January 30th, 2017, 06:00 AM
I had some limited success adding content, but those things strike me as rather complicated rule additions....
heinrich_krebs is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old January 30th, 2017, 08:12 AM
Yes, I would do it, but it is beyond me too
ErinRigh is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
heinrich_krebs
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54

Old January 30th, 2017, 11:21 AM
I was also looking for a fractal BAB/saves option, like described in Pathifinder Unchained and Unearthed arcana...
Is there support for that ?
heinrich_krebs is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Nightfox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100

Old January 30th, 2017, 01:26 PM
there is not really support for the Unchained rules in the d20, but it would be fairly easy to set up a condition or something to adjust the BAB and saves accordingly.

you should be able to just use tag counts.

not sure on syntax, but something like

Code:
var atku as number
var fortu as number
var fortgood as number
var refu as number
var refgood as number
var willu as number
var willgood as number

foreach pick on hero where component "component.BaseClHelp"
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Good] <> 0)then
    atku += 1 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Medium] <> 0) then
      atku += 3/4 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Poor] <> 0) then
      atku += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cFort.Good] <> 0) then
    fortu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    fortgood = 2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cFort.Poor] <> 0) then
      fortu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cRef.Good] <> 0) then
    refu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    refgood = 2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cRef.Poor] <> 0) then
      refu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cWill.Good] <> 0) then
    willu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    willgood = 2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cWill.Poor] <> 0) then
      willu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  nexteach

var babtotal as number
babtotal = round(atku,0,-1)

var forttotal as number
forttotal = round(fortu + fortgood,0,-1)

var reftotal as number
reftotal = round(refu + fortgood,0,-1)

var willtotal as number
willtotal = round(willu + fortgood,0,-1)
I'm sure there is a better more elegant way to do this, but here is a quick off the cuff for getting the numbers. As it is, this is not really complete, just a start.
Nightfox is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
heinrich_krebs
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54

Old January 31st, 2017, 02:48 AM
I think the rules are in Unearthed Arcana for d20/D&D3.5 and in Pathfinder Unchained for Pathfinder. But they are basically the same approach to calculate BAB/Saves.


Where would I implement the code above?
I only had code tied to feats or class abilities before...

A checkbox in the Charakter Settings with this Option would be nice.
heinrich_krebs is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Nightfox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100

Old January 31st, 2017, 10:18 AM
Ok, I found the sidebar in the Unearthed Arcana, and the fractional progression is a little different from the pathfinder unchained. I haven't had a chance to test the code so it may not work as written, but the major change is from "= 2" to "+= 2" for the good save bonuses.

As for where/how to implement it, I agree it would be nice to have it as part of the configure hero, but for testing I'd suggest using a feat or magic item you can easily add and remove to see the results.

To use the numbers you will need to add code to set the base attack and base saves to match those numbers. Something like:
Code:
hero.child[Attack].field[tAtkBase].value = babtotal
hero.child[vFort].field[vBase].value = forttotal
hero.child[vRef].field[vBase].value =reftotal
hero.child[vWill].field[vBase].value =willtotal
I'm not sure about the timing, but probably post level or pre attribute.
I'll try to do some testing later today. If you want to give it a go for testing I'd start with a feat or magic item. Use a special character at the start of the name such as "*test fractional progression" so it shows up at the front of the list. Then you can enter the code into the expression. If you use an item, I'd make it wearable (no slot) and add the following code at the beginning of the expression:
Code:
doneif (field[gIsEquip].value = 0)
The advantage to this is you can test the results (and make adjustments) without having to reload the game system or even remove and re-add feats.
Nightfox is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Nightfox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100

Old January 31st, 2017, 11:03 AM
since I still have a bit of time left to play during lunch, I decided to try the code... and as expected there were errors. However, nothing major, so here is a better version to play with.

PostLevelUser/10000
Code:
var atku as number
var fortu as number
var refu as number
var willu as number

foreach pick in hero where "component.BaseClHelp"
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Good] <> 0)then
    atku += 1 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Medium] <> 0) then
      atku += 3/4 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cAttack.Poor] <> 0) then
      atku += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cFort.Good] <> 0) then
    fortu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value +2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cFort.Poor] <> 0) then
      fortu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cRef.Good] <> 0) then
    refu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value +2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cRef.Poor] <> 0) then
      refu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  if (eachpick.tagcount[cWill.Good] <> 0) then
    willu += 1/2 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value +2
    elseif (eachpick.tagcount[cWill.Poor] <> 0) then
      willu += 1/3 * eachpick.field[cTotalLev].value
    endif
  nexteach

var babtotal as number
babtotal = round(atku,0,-1)

var forttotal as number
forttotal = round(fortu,0,-1)

var reftotal as number
reftotal = round(refu,0,-1)

var willtotal as number
willtotal = round(willu,0,-1)

hero.child[Attack].field[tAtkBase].value = babtotal
hero.child[vFort].field[vBase].value = forttotal
hero.child[vRef].field[vBase].value = reftotal
hero.child[vWill].field[vBase].value = willtotal
it seems to be working, but you will probably be able to see what it is missing better then I will. If it passes your tests, the easiest way to implement would be a condition with a source that has to be turned on.

The best way would be to set up a radial button on the configure hero screen between normal progression and fractional progression however, I am unsure on how to do that (or if it is even possible from the user side).
Nightfox is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,144

Old January 31st, 2017, 11:33 AM
You can also set this up as a condition or adjustment.
Sendric is online now   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.