Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Brisco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6

Old January 16th, 2007, 12:17 PM
Hello, the question of the day is...

It is possible to reveal messages of information when one adds a unit or when one selects an option? If so, how to make?

thanks
Brisco is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,103

Old January 18th, 2007, 12:37 PM
I don't understand what you mean by "reveal messages of information". Can you give me a concrete example of what this would look like to users?

Thanks, Rob


At 01:17 PM 1/16/2007, you wrote:

Quote:
Hello, the question of the day is... [img]./modules/mdforum/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

It is possible to reveal messages of information when one adds a unit or when one selects an option? If so, how to make?

thanks
rob is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Brisco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6

Old January 18th, 2007, 01:12 PM
example: one army does not have right which a tank for one has squad and not more. I would like to be able to announce this point of regle when one selectionne a tank by posting a message to the screen. I could manage that with exclusion groups, but the truth being which I do not sometimes happen to make between unit I do not have an other example, but that when I would also be useful to me selectionne some option
Brisco is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,103

Old January 25th, 2007, 07:36 PM
At 02:12 PM 1/18/2007, you wrote:

Quote:
example: one army does not have right which a tank for one has squad and not more. I would like to be able to announce this point of regle when one selectionne a tank by posting a message to the screen. I could manage that with exclusion groups, but the truth being which I do not sometimes happen to make between unit I do not have an other example, but that when I would also be useful to me selectionne some option
I'm still not certain I understand fully - I think it's a language translation problem on my end. However, from what I can tell, you want to display a message on the screen when various restrictions do or don't apply. The only way to display messages within AB is to either (a) put something in the description text for a unit or (b) control options to appear/disappear with the appropriate information.

You can use overrides to control how AB handles a unit different sitautions, and you can use rulesets to let the user configure the situation. But I'm not sure that applies for what you are doing.

If this is not something to control via rulesets, then you're probably best off using tags. The parent unit is assigned a tag that controls whether action (a) is taken or action (b) is taken. Then the option(s) configure themselves based on the presence of the appropriate tags.

I really need you to try explaining this again. The language issue is causing me all sorts of problems in grasping what you're describing. And if anyone else here knows the game well enough to assist in the translation, I would greatly appreciate the help. :-)

Thanks, Rob
rob is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.