Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Mutants & Masterminds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,380

Old March 1st, 2010, 08:35 PM
Currently, there's a custom flaw for Limited to Objects that restricted to Drain. The thing is, the flaw is only applicable to powers that explicitly have the Extra of Affects Objects applied. It would actually be useful on things like Corrosion and Disintegration where normally Flaws apply twice but here can be marked as Ignore Power Modifier Cost Multipliers.
Duggan is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Woodclaw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 127

Old March 1st, 2010, 10:51 PM
According to the Ultimate Power description Drain normally doesn't affect objects, you have to acquire the Affect Objects extra. Fact his that under the description it was indicated that if it's Limited to Objects, meaning that it can drain Objects but not peoples it has a -1 modifier for a net cost of +0, like any other power (see Ultimate Power p.43).

The current structure of the power is a bug.

About Corrosion/Disintegration it already includes Affect Objects, since each rank is made up of the following:

- Damage
- Drain [toughness] + Affect Object
Woodclaw is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,380

Old March 2nd, 2010, 09:45 AM
Right. My point was that the ability to take the Corrosion or Disintegrate power and make it only apply to Objects or non-Objects is handy, if for no other reason than that it means that adjusting the number of ranks in it means changing the variables in one place instead of two.

I apologize for the relative incoherence of the first post. I wrote it late at night while short on sleep. My intent was to indicate that that particular flaw was only applicable to Drain if they had taken the additional Extra of Affects Objects. There already exists an Objects Only +0 extra at the bottom. So, if we had a power which normally affected both (like the implementation of Corrosion and Disintegration), Limited to Objects would make sense. And, in the case of Corrosion and Disintegration, it would make sense for the flaw to only count as a -1 since it only applies to the Drain portion. ^_^ Clearer?
Duggan is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old March 19th, 2010, 12:35 PM
Yeah, this is a bit weird. You can pick one of:

Drain (affects objects only +0)
Drain (affects objects +1, limited to objects -1)

Which give you the exact same power. Limited to Objects should only apply if you take the Affects Objects extra, so I'll put that on the bug list.
Colen is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Duggan
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,380

Old September 18th, 2012, 07:24 AM
Just adding an addendum, Corrosion and Disintegration still don't properly accept the Affects Objects Only Flaw, treating it at as -2 Flaw instead of a -1.
Duggan is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.