Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ynnswa
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 33

Old September 13th, 2011, 06:46 PM
I have a special ability that exists for each class in the game system. It's only purpose is to display on the Special tab.

Is there some way to set its appearance on that tab as conditional? Right now, if you multi-class, it displays once for each class you take.
ynnswa is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
ynnswa
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 33

Old September 14th, 2011, 02:52 AM
Wow, I can be stuck on the literal sometimes....

This is a class based ability, so I focused in on Classes. However, you can have as many classes as you have levels for but you only get one race. I have changed this to a racial special ability, which solved my issue.

I'd still like to know if making the display of Specials conditional is possible in HL. Just curious.

Last edited by ynnswa; September 14th, 2011 at 03:39 AM. Reason: Just correcting my early morning typos and lack of clarity.
ynnswa is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Kendall-DM
Spy
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Van Nuys, California
Posts: 1,220

Old September 14th, 2011, 08:23 AM
Your scripted conditional should delete the Helper.ShowSpec tag for the ability if its condition is not met.

Code:
if (<condition is not met>) then
  var result as number
  result = hero.child[<special ability>].delete[Helper.ShowSpec]
endif
Kendall-DM is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
ynnswa
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 33

Old September 14th, 2011, 02:45 PM
Thanks. I haven't messed with showing Specials outside the built-in Editor functions. I appreciate the tip.

Last edited by ynnswa; September 14th, 2011 at 02:50 PM. Reason: Now I'm correcting my afternoon typos. Maybe it's just not my day to type.
ynnswa is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old September 16th, 2011, 01:22 PM
You can set the special's Uniqueness equal to "Unique" or "Add Once" that way no matter how many times it is bootstrapped it will only show once.
Lawful_g is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ynnswa
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 33

Old September 16th, 2011, 03:25 PM
I didn't realize that was purpose for Uniqueness. I assumed it was only about the number of times something could be manually added to the character.

Thanks
ynnswa is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.