Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 46

Old June 21st, 2016, 07:32 AM
Hi.

Our wizards don't get Scribe Scroll, but can choose another feat instead at 1st level.

When I copy the Wizard SRD class to create a variant wizard class, that variant cannot choose any spell specialisations.

How might I fix that?

I think I can figure out the feat removal and addition but no idea how to start on school specialisation.

With best regards,

John / Greylin
Greylin is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old June 21st, 2016, 07:39 AM
First, I would actually recommend doing a Class Variant instead of copying the existing class. Much easier to deal with.

That said, if you are going to go this route, you have to allow Wizard custom abilities for your new class. You can do this in the "Allow Class Abilities..." selection menu under the Custom Abilities section of the Class tab.
Sendric is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 46

Old June 22nd, 2016, 02:28 AM
Thanks Sendric - the Class Variant approach is much easier.

However, I'm struggling to remove Scribe Scroll. I ticked Scribe Scroll (all 4 versions) under Miscellaneous Details, Removed Class Special Abilities but it still displays.

I note that Martial Wizard variant uses an Eval Script to grey out (though not remove) Scribe Scroll (pasted below). I've done this for now, but is there a slicker way to entirely remove Scribe Scroll ability?

With best regards,

John / Greylin

--snip--
perform hero.delete[HasFeat.fScribeS]
perform hero.delete[fCategory.ItemCreate]

foreach pick in hero from BaseFeat where "HasFeat.fScribeS & Helper.FirstCopy"
perform eachpick.assign[Helper.FtDisable]
perform eachpick.delete[fCategory.ItemCreate]
nexteach

foreach pick in hero from BaseFeat where "HasFeat.fScribeS & !Helper.FirstCopy"
perform eachpick.delete[Helper.FtDisable]
nexteach

foreach pick in hero from BaseFeat where "HasFeat.fScribeS"
if (eachpick.tagis[Helper.FirstCopy] = 0) then
perform hero.assign[HasFeat.fScribeS]
perform hero.assign[fCategory.ItemCreate]
endif
nexteach
Greylin is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old June 22nd, 2016, 04:53 AM
Yes, there is a way. There may be an even better option I'm not aware of, but what you can do is create a copy of the Wizard's Scribe Scroll class special (cWizScribe). Give the new special a unique id and put the id of the old special into the "Replaces thing id" box.

Add the following eval script at First/9999:
Code:
if (tagis[Helper.FtDisable]<>0) then
   field[Value].value = 1
endif
Then open up the bootstrap window and add the following condition to Scribe Scroll:
Code:
fieldval:Value<>0
This should negate the need for the script you pasted above. Note that if you do this, it would also affect the Martial Wizard class variant.

Edit: I think I will add this to the community package for the next release.

Last edited by Sendric; June 22nd, 2016 at 04:58 AM.
Sendric is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Greylin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 46

Old June 22nd, 2016, 12:55 PM
This totally sorted me and is a much better solution than a new class (which I also experimented with), which required rebuilding the character spell book and skills.

Thank you!
Greylin is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.