Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FacetiousBlack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1

Old June 1st, 2016, 10:16 AM
I'm very new to HL and 5e, so I apologize if I'm missing something. (I tried a forum search, but didn't see a thread on this.)

If a character is gaining the same proficiency from both a background and a race (i.e. an Elf with the Far Traveler background getting Perception from both) should be allowed to select a different proficiency to replace the duplicate. Is this implemented in HL? I see that I can add proficiencies on the Class tab, but that red "too many skill proficiencies" is an annoyance.

Am I doing it wrong?
FacetiousBlack is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Hollis
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 778

Old June 10th, 2016, 03:58 PM
Is there a rule saying they get an extra skill to replace the duplicate? If so, can you point me to it?
Hollis is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
dafrca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 121

Old June 14th, 2016, 06:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollis View Post
Is there a rule saying they get an extra skill to replace the duplicate? If so, can you point me to it?
PHB Page 125, Sub-header "Proficiencies", third paragraph:

Quote: If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (Skill or Tool) instead. End Quote.

So it is not an "extra" it is a replacement. They end up with the same number of Proficiencies.

Last edited by dafrca; June 14th, 2016 at 06:46 PM. Reason: To fix a Typo
dafrca is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
jbearwillis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 750

Old June 15th, 2016, 07:09 PM
I am very happy some one else noticed this problem as well. I was getting ready to address this one, when I came across this post.
jbearwillis is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Mergon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 788

Old June 17th, 2016, 10:56 AM
I believe there are adjustments that allow the adding of extra proficiencies that allows you to handle this issue. At least that is how I handle these issues.

Watch your back, Conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
Mergon is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
jbearwillis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 750

Old June 17th, 2016, 12:27 PM
Yes, but the rogue gives you Land Vehicles automatically and doesn't let you change it. You can add one with the adjustment, but you can not get rid of the Land Vehicle proficiency. So it prints on the character sheet. It would be more efficient if it was setup for characters to chose a different proficiency when this comes up instead of using adjustments. Just saying.
jbearwillis is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
scarymike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7

Old February 5th, 2017, 07:56 AM
I agree this is a bit of a problem. It's easy to miss this rule, so adding via adjustment isn't a great solution.

Edit:

Here is a concrete example:

1. Take a race that gives you a skill, such as Intimidation (Half Orc)
2. Take a background that grants the same proficiency (Soldier)

At this point, by the rules, you should be able to pick a different skill to be proficient in, since you obtained Intimidation twice.

Last edited by scarymike; February 5th, 2017 at 08:02 AM.
scarymike is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,257

Old February 5th, 2017, 11:38 AM
I've spoken to LW and they are looking at building this functionality in with a future patch.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.