Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tengu1958
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 27

Old August 13th, 2016, 04:31 PM
Trying to create a matrix that is 4 columns by 5 rows that uses checkboxes. When a checkbox is selected the character receives a talent. The first pick has to come from the first row. As picks are made they may or may not open up the matrix so that second tow checkboxes can be selected. By making a pick in the second row it may open up other boxes on the second row or on the third row and it carries on like this all the way to the forth and fifth rows.

Would use a set of 20 things to hold the matric positions. Each thing would be associated with a box, for example, starting off with a box for Column One Row One. Each box would have the talent bootstrapped to it.

I have set the portals up as:

<!-- Rank 1 Column 1 Box of the Healer Tree
heR1C1Box -->

<portal
id="heR1C1Box"
style="tblInvis">
<table_fixed
component="Talent"
showtemplate="heR1C1Pick"
showsortset="explicit"
scrollable="no">
</table_fixed>
</portal>

<!-- Rank 1 Column 1 Pick of the Healer Tree
heR1C1Pick -->

<template
id="heR1C1Pick"
name="Rank 1 Column 1 Pick"
compset="Talent"
marginhorz="13"
marginvert="9">

<portal
id="name"
style="lblNormal"
showinvalid="yes">
<label
field="name">
</label>
</portal>

<portal
id="checkbox"
style="chkNormal"
tiptext="Check to select Talent">
<checkbox
field="sTreeHeal"
dynamicfield="sTrHealTxt">
</checkbox>
</portal>

<portal
id="info"
style="actInfo">
<action
action="info">
</action>
</portal>

<position><![CDATA[
~set up our height based on our name
height = portal[name].height

~if this is a "sizing" calculation, we're done
doneif (issizing <> 0)

~the title should span the full width
portal[name].width = width

~position the name portal on the left
portal[name].left = 15

~position the checkbox portal next to the name portal
perform portal[checkbox].alignrel[ltor,name,35]
portal[name].width = 30

~position the info portals next to the checkbox
perform portal[info].alignrel[ltor,checkbox,6]

]]></position>

</template>

<!-- This is the layout of the Healer Tree. It is Four Columns that
runs Five Rows deep. -->

<layout
id="healer">
<portalref portal="heR1C1Box" taborder="10"/>

<!-- This script sizes and positions the layout and its child visual elements. -->
<position><![CDATA[
~size and position the R1C1Box table in the top left; we set the height to
~the full layout height, but the table will only use the space it needs
portal[heR1C1Box].width = width / 2 - 5
portal[heR1C1Box].left = 0
portal[heR1C1Box].height = height

]]></position>

</layout>

The following fields are part of the Talent component:

<!-- Field for the specialization healer tree -->
<field
id="sTreeHeal"
name="Select Healer Tree?"
type="user">
</field>

<field
id="sTrHealTxt"
name="Healer Tree Text"
type="derived"
maxfinal="50">
<!-- Not sure what I need to put here. Been trying a lot of things but nothing has worked yet -->
</field>

This is the talent thing I would like to see in Row 1 Column 1:

<!-- Surgeon Talent -->

<thing
id="talSurgeon"
name="Surgeon"
compset="Talent"
isunique="yes"
description="When making a Medicine check to help a character heal wounds, the target heals 1 additional wound per rank of Surgeon.">
<fieldval field="talForce" value="0"/>
<fieldval field="sTreeHeal" value="heR1C1Box"/>
</thing>

Appreciate any help that could get me back on track.

Last edited by Tengu1958; August 13th, 2016 at 06:36 PM.
Tengu1958 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,207

Old August 15th, 2016, 08:58 AM
I do not get what you're trying to accomplish. Are you trying to set up bootstraps that are turned on or off by checkboxes?
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Tengu1958
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 27

Old August 15th, 2016, 01:58 PM
Yes. Trying to get the portal to work first. Then I worry about the bootstraps. Probably have flawed logic.
Tengu1958 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,207

Old August 15th, 2016, 02:06 PM
Do you mean you want the user to check a box, and the ability gets added to their character?

That's definitely in the "not recommended practice" category. Even if it will make things look exactly like they do in the book, Hero Lab does not have good built in mechanisms to support that, and you will end up with a large block of messily hacked code in order to support that.

If you want to offer ability selections to the user, I recommend using the normal tables.
Mathias is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old August 15th, 2016, 03:04 PM
Tengu: Check this out..... maybe you can run with what I came up with....
Attached Files
File Type: zip swffg.zip (473.9 KB, 8 views)
TCArknight is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Tengu1958
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 27

Old August 15th, 2016, 09:06 PM
Well I have been thinking my logic is flawed, Mathias.

Thanks TCArknight. Will definitely look at your files.
Tengu1958 is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Tengu1958
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 27

Old August 16th, 2016, 05:52 AM
What you did TCArknight is amazing. That is what I am trying to get to. This should give me some insights as to where I am going wrong.
Tengu1958 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.