Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Online Forums > Hero Lab Online Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Saint Bernard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Thornton CO
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Saint Bernard

Old August 2nd, 2019, 09:43 AM
I have Pathfinder 2nd Edition on HLO and Pathfinder 1st Edition on HLC. In comparison with HLC, HLO is extremely slow, waiting up to a minute to add a select item to the character. HLC has a much better interface to use. As a fan of HLC, I am disappointed with HLO. I will continue to use HLO but only because there are no real alternatives out there. Please consider porting Pathfinder 2nd Edition to HLC.
Saint Bernard is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Alewis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 30

Old August 2nd, 2019, 04:51 PM
+1

I never considered trying a competitors product but if all future systems are only on HLO, I'll have to do some research.
Alewis is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
skald1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14

Old August 2nd, 2019, 07:40 PM
Regrettably, I am on the verge of asking for a refund. I’ll come back to it once it’s done.

Having to wait between 10 and 40 seconds between checkbox clicks and minutes at a time when five skills are checked in rapid succession is entirely unacceptable and not worth the money. It renders the product unusable in live games.

Edge, Firefox, Chrome — all the same.
skald1 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,446

Old August 3rd, 2019, 02:45 AM
Strange. I'm not having those delays. I'm noticing it is a bit sluggish, but just enough to be noticeable and annoying. Maybe a second to a half-a-second.

I wonder what the variables are. I'm guessing I'm on at an odd time right now, so the server load is probably low. It's web-based, so I don't know how much the local computer's performance matters.

I'm assuming if you had bandwidth or latency issues, you'd notice performance hits when otherwise browsing the web.

Could it be the prime-time server load, then?
EightBitz is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
flyteach
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86

Old August 3rd, 2019, 04:26 AM
It's pretty much primetime and users desperately hoping this will work and being terribly disappointed. This is the worst over the 18 months I've been using HLO. Same device, was not this bad last year, and that's not even delving into the multitude of new errors on SF stuff that worked fine, printing that also worked fine until a month ago, and while I haven't had the opportunity yet, a whole host of bugs in PF2 that I'll get around to writing up after the con.
flyteach is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
danlswanson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4

Old August 3rd, 2019, 03:09 PM
Agreed. Do not like HLO at all. Luckily, my group is not going to PF2 - so we will stay with HLC and PF1. Glad I only signed up for the demo and didn't pay any $$$ for HLO.
danlswanson is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
blkohn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6

Old August 3rd, 2019, 04:43 PM
Agree that it is too slow. Also the UI seems very click intensive to decide anything. I'm not a ui dev, but there have been a lot of advances in ui/ux design over the years that might help here. Anything to economize dialog use and clicks to achieve state change would be welcome.
blkohn is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,335

Old August 3rd, 2019, 05:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightBitz View Post
I wonder what the variables are.
I'm guessing you weren't trying from (roughly) 8 AM to Midnight Eastern Daylight Time, during the release of Pathfinder 2nd Ed. at Gen Con? :)

I was poking around late last night (Central time) and it was running reasonably smoothly; trying during the day yesterday meant very long waits.

They will have to look into better scaling during peak times as things go forward, but I'm sure "get PF2 updated and working" was the company goal for the last few months.


Last edited by Parody; August 3rd, 2019 at 05:31 PM.
Parody is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
taks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 15

Old August 3rd, 2019, 05:47 PM
I seriously hope this is not the final product. It's basically unusable.

Master Abilities
"Resource overspent: 5 of 2"... there are only 2 selections there. Imaginary.

I have a familiar, it tells me I need to choose a language, but no option anywhere to choose one.

It took over an hour to build a 1st level wizard, not because I didn't know what to select, but because every selection took so long.

Please tell me there will be a classic version...
taks is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,446

Old August 5th, 2019, 11:47 AM
Using the product more, I see more and more where it is slow and clunky. I'm having more and more issues with it. I've been creating characters today, and I got an error when trying to add a spell book to a wizard.

I got an error when trying to add spells to a cleric, but the error came up after a pause while it was trying.
EightBitz is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.