Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Online Forums > Hero Lab Online Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
pauljathome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10

Old July 30th, 2019, 09:44 AM
So, this site is utterly atrocious for actually giving information. Fairly key information at that.

So, some questions on Herolab online

1) What is the monthly fee once the free server space time runs out?
2) Can I print a character/save it to pdf/something else for those times when I'm gaming at a site without internet access?
pauljathome is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,335

Old July 30th, 2019, 11:41 AM
1. $24.99 per year.

2. Yes; it generates a PDF for you that you can download (and then print if you want).

The Hero Lab Online FAQ answers both of these questions, but it may have been unlinked from the website.


Last edited by Parody; July 30th, 2019 at 11:44 AM.
Parody is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
pauljathome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10

Old August 1st, 2019, 01:29 PM
Thank you. If there was any link to that FAQ it was sufficiently well hidden that I failed to find it (certainly was NOT in any if the obvious places)
pauljathome is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
qstor
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 51

Old August 6th, 2019, 04:40 AM
So you have to continually pay $24 a year to use it. Even without paying for additional "packages"

One of the developers mentioned in another thread about HLOnline - "The key restriction is that a character can’t be further edited if it’s beyond a “starting” character"

SO you'll basically be paying $24 to edit your characters? As a regular PFS player that frankly kinda sucks. You're basically paying for editing privileges and NOT new data packs.

Last edited by qstor; August 6th, 2019 at 04:46 AM.
qstor is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,104

Old August 6th, 2019, 10:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstor View Post
SO you'll basically be paying $24 to edit your characters? As a regular PFS player that frankly kinda sucks. You're basically paying for editing privileges and NOT new data packs.
You're paying for the cloud/web access that allows you to access the character on any device anywhere that you need it, without needing to carry around a large laptop (e.g. for HL classic).

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
dacoobob
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 89

Old August 6th, 2019, 03:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farling View Post
You're paying for the cloud/web access that allows you to access the character on any device anywhere that you need it, without needing to carry around a large laptop (e.g. for HL classic).
you mean "anywhere that has reliable internet access". at a convention? nope, cell network is overwhelmed. on a road trip? sorry, no 3G out here. at your friendly local game store but their wifi is down again? you're SOL.

the "offline mode" will help a bit once it's released (someday), but it'll still have very limited functionality. maybe in 10 years internet access will be truly ubiquitous and servers will never go down. until then...

Last edited by dacoobob; August 6th, 2019 at 03:10 PM.
dacoobob is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Alewis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 30

Old August 6th, 2019, 09:05 PM
How easy is it to switch between devices? I have not tried it but I already get errors about wrong device name and I've only used it on one device.
Alewis is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
EightBitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,446

Old August 6th, 2019, 09:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alewis View Post
How easy is it to switch between devices? I have not tried it but I already get errors about wrong device name and I've only used it on one device.
I was having issues with this, and I think one of the reasons was that I was just closing the web browser on the previous device/browser. I wasn't explicitly logging out before closing the browser.

I just double checked and confirmed that this is the case. If you just close the web browser, you are NOT logged out. You have to explicitly log out of your previous session (which means you have to go back to your previous device and reconnect to the web site).

I've submitted a request to the support email to address this issue, either by closing the session when someone closes their web browser, or by offering an option to log out the previous session when attempting a new logon.
EightBitz is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,335

Old August 6th, 2019, 09:47 PM
Hero Lab Online will log you out when you log in on another session, if you've entered a different Device Nickname on each device+browser combination. (That's what it's asking you to do with the "Wrong device name" error.)

For example, I might have "ParodyComp Vivaldi" and "ParodyComp Firefox" on my computer and "ParodyPhone Chrome" on my Android phone. (Each in their respective browsers.)

When you log in on a different device+browser combo, one of the notifications will be "You have reached your device limit, and your least-recently used devices will be automatically logged out soon: (nickname)". When you go back to that machine, you'll get "Your session has expired and you will need to log in again."


Last edited by Parody; August 6th, 2019 at 09:53 PM.
Parody is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,104

Old August 6th, 2019, 11:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightBitz View Post
I've submitted a request to the support email to address this issue, either by closing the session when someone closes their web browser, or by offering an option to log out the previous session when attempting a new logon.
It isn't easy to detect when a user has finished, since "closing the web browser" needs to be detected separately from "closing the tab showing HLO", since I might have several tabs open for HLO (I assume it works across multiple tabs though).

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.