Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885

Old January 7th, 2017, 08:25 AM
Also, while I never finished it, I did start to create a Custom race for my own data set. This works for characters, not creatures though (unless enough is added as per Step 4 below).

Step 1: Made a race that displays as Custom Race in the Race drop-down.

Step 2: Bootstrapped an Edge that requires it, called "Custom Race Name" which then allows you to enter the name of the race in its Domain, then it makes it so that the Domain replaces the names so that they will change on the screen and on the print-out.

Step 3: Give it 2 "Rewards Points". These will be used to purchase abilities from the list of rewards.

Step 4: (this is the part that I am not done with, and may never be) Make options in the Rewards section. Most of them are unique, and some of them preclude one another. For example, you cannot have +1 strength die, +2 strength die, and -1 strength die. Just pick one of them.

4a: For that part I am thinking about simplifying it and just making a dropdown that looks for the "Simples" and then making adjustments in an eval script based on what is selected. Doing this cannot bootstrap things to a character, but they can modify them. Also, only Edges can have the dropdown so the Reward would need to bootstrap an appropriate Edge.

There are many things that can be done with Edges. Some of them I make free or bootstrap just because of their usefulness. You can make it so that they do not print out so it helps to keep clutter down at least for a printed out character.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Paragon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 675

Old January 8th, 2017, 12:13 PM
At least the standard .stock files don't show as text files when you open them (in fact, they don't open properly in the text editor at all); that may have to do with some specific coding in the program since they're official product material and not end-user products.
Paragon is online now   #12 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 651

Old January 8th, 2017, 02:15 PM
.stock files are Zip archives; I can open them fine in 7-Zip.

Currently Running: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently playing: Pathfinder, D&D4e.
Former Games:
Savage Worlds, Mutants & Masterminds (2nd and 3rd editions), Cortex.
charlieluce is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
Dami
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 152

Old January 8th, 2017, 08:48 PM
In Pathfinder and 3.5 the .stock files are created by saving a portfolio and changing the .por extension to .stock - that should work for other game systems. Then they will be seen by the encounter builder.

Last edited by Dami; January 12th, 2017 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Corrected typo
Dami is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
Paragon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 675

Old January 10th, 2017, 07:45 AM
Ah. That explains it.

So does that mean you can essentially just do a multi-character portfolio and change it to .stock?
Paragon is online now   #15 Reply With Quote
zarlor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Metairie, LA, USA
Posts: 1,518

Old January 10th, 2017, 08:37 AM
If you look at a .user file it's just an xml file, perfectly readable in any text application. .stock files, however, are zip archives, not just an xml file. However according to this Wiki article presumably a .stock file could also just be a portfolio, so maybe a multi-character portfolio would work, or maybe you would make multiple portfolios and zip them up. I think the only way to really find out is by playing around with that a bit.

If you figure it out, however, definitely let us know what seems to work!

Lenny Zimmermann
Metairie, LA, USA

Data files authored (please let me know if you see any issues with any of these if you have/use them):
Official (In the downloader)
50 Fathoms, Deadlands: Hell On Earth, Deadlands: Noir, East Texas University, Necessary Evil (requires Super Powers Companion), Pirates of the Spanish Main, Tour of Darkness, Weird War II, Weird Wars: Rome
Coming Soon
Evernight (LWD has completed their review but I have some fixes to make first)
Unofficial Files (PM me to get a copy if you need it)
Necropolis (NOT Necropolis 2350. I have the version from when it was still a PEG, Inc. property but I have 2350 and I have been looking at updating to that version in the near future.)
zarlor is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
salcor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 76

Old January 10th, 2017, 04:15 PM
Thanks for the update. So I will probably just start working on the playable character races from the savage bestiary documents. Maybe even work on the custom race mechanic from ScifiComp.

Salcor
salcor is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
SeeleyOne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885

Old January 10th, 2017, 06:29 PM
I have not played around with it more than a few minutes quite a while back, but I know that something does let you make a creature that selects things in the Racial Properties (like the things from the Sci Fi Companion). I know because I did it once. I was just playing around and seeing what was available.

But I only use Hero Lab for character management, not monsters or NPCs, so I am not much more help in that regard.

I do know that Configure Hero settings (source) do not always play nice with the animals / creatures / NPCs, which is the biggest reason that I don't touch them. I just write my NPCs by hand or make them more like characters.

I have a mod (yeah, yeah, I have many) that lets me choose between Extra, Competent Extra (an Extra with a wild die, and maybe one or more wounds and maybe one or more bennies, they are on the path for becoming a full Wild Card), and Wild Cards. I use the Group option for this.

Evil wins because good rolls poorly .... or the players are not paying enough attention to the game.
SeeleyOne is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Paragon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 675

Old January 11th, 2017, 08:20 AM
Let us know what you find out, Salcor. Like I said, when I did my XCOM game I just dumped the Portfolios in the main SW directory, which worked, but is really messy. It'd be good to know what the more compact way to do that would be.
Paragon is online now   #19 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 919

Old January 12th, 2017, 12:22 PM
A .stock file is equivalent to a .por file.

_
Currently Running: Savage Worlds (Fantasy), Savage Galaxy Rangers, Pathfinder (Way of the Wicked)
Currently Playing: Pathfinder (Kingmaker - it's good to be the King), Savage Wearing the Cape
Prepping for Gamestorm: Savage Worlds
CapedCrusader is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.