Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 10th, 2017, 10:29 AM
Hi everyone,

A beta version of Hero Lab is now available! You can download it here:

(Links removed - thanks for your help with the betas, everyone!)

We've been testing this build internally for the last few weeks, and we're pretty sure it's ready for prime time - we'd just like some extra eyes on it before it goes out on general release.

The big new feature of this release is increased evaluation speed of Hero Lab - you shouldn't have to wait quite as long before HL displays the changes of actions you take, resulting in a smoother user experience. Compiling the Pathfinder data files should also be quicker by about 30% on Windows, which I hope all the data file authors out there will appreciate.

Please let me know in this thread if you run into problems or crashes with this new version. If you run into problems, you can simply download the old version of Hero Lab from our web site and reinstall it.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Colen; January 23rd, 2017 at 07:57 AM.
Colen is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 18th, 2017, 06:08 PM
(Links removed - thanks for your help with the betas, everyone!)

Last edited by Colen; January 23rd, 2017 at 07:57 AM.
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 266

Old January 18th, 2017, 09:03 PM
FYI: I'm still getting a crash if I try to move a character via dashboard, eg. Move to Top/Bottom/Up/Down.

I sent a crash report already for the previous beta, do you want a new one for this version?

-Jamz
Jamz is online now   #3 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 9,318

Old January 18th, 2017, 09:04 PM
I just installed those latest. Not a big deal but the settings I had in Configure Your Hero where all turned off. Everything was off. Not hard to fix but FYI.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 19th, 2017, 05:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamz View Post
FYI: I'm still getting a crash if I try to move a character via dashboard, eg. Move to Top/Bottom/Up/Down.

I sent a crash report already for the previous beta, do you want a new one for this version?
Thanks for submitting that! I'll get this fixed before release.
Colen is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 19th, 2017, 05:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
I just installed those latest. Not a big deal but the settings I had in Configure Your Hero where all turned off. Everything was off. Not hard to fix but FYI.
*Everything* everything? Was this in previously saved portfolios, or when creating a new character?
Colen is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 9,318

Old January 19th, 2017, 09:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen View Post
*Everything* everything? Was this in previously saved portfolios, or when creating a new character?
Yep all options were off for new characters only. Also strange it only affected my main pathfinder install.

I opened a character and told HL to set the settings of that character. So easy to fix. But thought I would mention it. This was on a Win7 x64 computer.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is online now   #7 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 19th, 2017, 03:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Yep all options were off for new characters only. Also strange it only affected my main pathfinder install.

I opened a character and told HL to set the settings of that character. So easy to fix. But thought I would mention it. This was on a Win7 x64 computer.
I don't suppose you have a copy of your Hero Lab preferences file from before you installed the new beta, do you? That would help me figure out if there's something unexpected in your settings that would mess this up...
Colen is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 9,318

Old January 20th, 2017, 09:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen View Post
I don't suppose you have a copy of your Hero Lab preferences file from before you installed the new beta, do you? That would help me figure out if there's something unexpected in your settings that would mess this up...
Sorry Colen I do not....

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is online now   #9 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,667

Old January 22nd, 2017, 08:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Sorry Colen I do not....
Alright, thanks - I've put some logging code in to help figure this out if it happens again.
Colen is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.