Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Online Forums > HLO - Pathfinder 2nd Edition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ed Reppert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12

Old December 5th, 2019, 07:18 PM
The basic method of charging a staff is that during prep you gain a number of charges equal to the highest level spell slot you have. So my fourth level cleric's staff of healing gets two charges. But, I can spend one of my level 2 spell slots to add two more charges to the staff. Except... how do I do that in HLO?
Ed Reppert is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Joe
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 703

Old December 6th, 2019, 09:32 AM
I THINK the workaround for this right now would be to just pick a level 2 spell (any spell) and mark it as though you had cast it. That will subtract one from the "spells remaining" for all spells of that level for the rest of the day.

Now the only downside is you have to remember "wait, did I actually cast (insert spell name here)"? We have a plan to improve this in the future, but that should get you going for now.
Joe is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
LazarX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jersey City
Posts: 297

Old January 7th, 2020, 05:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Reppert View Post
The basic method of charging a staff is that during prep you gain a number of charges equal to the highest level spell slot you have. So my fourth level cleric's staff of healing gets two charges. But, I can spend one of my level 2 spell slots to add two more charges to the staff. Except... how do I do that in HLO?

That's not how it works.

During morning prep you can restore ONE charge to one staff that you are attuned. You must have the highest level spell on the staff on your class list and be able to cast a spell of that level from your spell slots.

You use up the spell slot to restore ONE charge to your staff. There are special mechanics and items that let you restore two charges, but that requries the expenditure of two spell slots.
LazarX is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Jamz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 372

Old January 7th, 2020, 06:52 PM
That's not how it works... In 2nd edition.

OP had it right...

https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=751

-Jamz

RPTools.net | MapTool Discord Invite

Download Latest MapTool Release | Download Latest TokenTool Release

Last edited by Jamz; January 7th, 2020 at 06:54 PM.
Jamz is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Ed Reppert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12

Old February 7th, 2020, 11:33 AM
Thanks, Jamz. :-)
Ed Reppert is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
dacoobob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 193

Old February 11th, 2020, 07:23 AM
wasted.gif
dacoobob is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Micco
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 55

Old February 17th, 2020, 03:11 PM
I can't even get staff's to "Prepare" with a rest. They all say 0 of 0 charges even after resting. Am I doing something wrong or are staff mechanics not implemented or broken?
Micco is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.