Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Stormcrow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18

Old November 27th, 2016, 07:40 PM
I'm adding a new race and it is receiving an extra language due to an intelligence bonus and was wondering how to stop it with out lowering the intelligence bonus.
Stormcrow is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old November 28th, 2016, 03:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormcrow View Post
I'm adding a new race and it is receiving an extra language due to an intelligence bonus and was wondering how to stop it with out lowering the intelligence bonus.
Here's one I've used:

Code:
  herofield[tLangsSta].value = 0
In a situation like this, it's a good idea to take a look at hero fields. It covers a lot of things like this.
Sendric is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 28th, 2016, 11:07 AM
Doesn't the Race have a section called "Bonus Languages" and you could just enter -1 or whatever to reduce the number its getting from Int?

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old November 29th, 2016, 03:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Doesn't the Race have a section called "Bonus Languages" and you could just enter -1 or whatever to reduce the number its getting from Int?
Not that I'm aware of.
Sendric is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Nightfox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100

Old November 29th, 2016, 09:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sendric View Post
Here's one I've used:

Code:
  herofield[tLangsSta].value = 0
I could be wrong, but wouldn't this prevent the character from having any bonus starting languages due to high Int?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormcrow View Post
I'm adding a new race and it is receiving an extra language due to an intelligence bonus and was wondering how to stop it with out lowering the intelligence bonus.
Maybe I'm reading this wrong, but it sounds like Stormcrow is adding a race with a +2 or more to Int, but he doesn't want the race to start with the extra starting language from this bonus. If that is the case, you may want to add an if statement like:

Code:
   if (herofield[tLangsSta].value > XX) then
      herofield[tLangsSta].value -= XX
      elseif (herofield[tLangsSta].value <= XX) then
         herofield[tLangsSta].value = 0
      endif
Replace the XX with the number of bonus languages that the racial bonus to Int would provide.
Nightfox is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.