Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Aldaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139

Old December 2nd, 2017, 03:11 PM
Just a quick question about the ACP and bucklers. I'm putting together a rapier + buckler wielding bard at the moment. With DEX 16 and Weapon Finesse, at 1st level, the character has a +3 to attack with the rapier.

If I activate the buckler in her off hand, because of the -1 ACP of the buckler, her attack drops to +2. Is this correct? I understood that the ACP only applied to attacks if the character didn't have the appropriate shield/armour proficiency, but as a bard, she should automatically have "Shield Proficiency".

A similar penalty doesn't occur to any other shield-using class that I can see (fighters, clerics, etc) - have I missed some subtle rule thing here, or is it an actual bug?
Aldaron is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
TheIronGolem
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 641

Old December 2nd, 2017, 03:32 PM
ACP from shields (including bucklers) is applied to attack rolls when using Weapon Finesse.
TheIronGolem is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Dami
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 763

Old December 2nd, 2017, 03:32 PM
This isn't a bug - look at the description for the Weapon Finesse feat: "If you carry a shield, its ACP applies to your attack rolls."

Current RPG's: Pathfinder (GM), Pathfinder (Player), Gamma World (GM, Pathfinder homebrew).
HeroLab: 3.5 & Pathfinder. HL User Files for PF: Greyhawk Setting, Gamma World (WIP).

DM and player of D&D since 1980.
Dami is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
TheIronGolem
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 641

Old December 2nd, 2017, 03:39 PM
I'll also note that if you upgrade to a masterwork buckler (admittedly tough to do at level 1), the penalty will technically still apply, but it will be reduced to zero.
TheIronGolem is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Aldaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139

Old December 2nd, 2017, 04:05 PM
Ah, thanks folks. Didn't think to check the feat. Masterwork buckler it is.
Aldaron is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.