Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Arthurrw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26

Old September 9th, 2007, 12:28 PM
Ok so I want to make the feat from the Forgotten Realms source book "Cosmopolitan".

What I need the feat to do is let me choose a skill and then after choosing the skill the skill becomes a class skill and also gets +2 to the skill check.

Can someone give me an idea how to get it to do that?
Arthurrw is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old September 10th, 2007, 06:31 PM
Arthurrw wrote:
>
>
> Ok so I want to make the feat from the Forgotten Realms source book
> "Cosmopolitan".
>
> What I need the feat to do is let me choose a skill and then after
> choosing the skill the skill becomes a class skill and also gets +2 to
> the skill check.
>
> Can someone give me an idea how to get it to do that?


When you're creating new stuff in Hero Lab, think about existing
material that works a lot like the effect you want. In this case, the
"Cosmopolitan" feat is a lot like Skill Focus - it gives you a +2
instead of a +3, and you get an extra class skill. So let's start with that.

In the editor, go to the Feats tab and click "New (Copy)", then choose
Skill Focus from the giant list of feats. Change the name to
"Cosmpolitan" and the unique id to something appropriate, then change
the description text so it says the right thing.

Now we have to make two changes:

1) Change the bonus from +3 to +2
2) Force the skill to be a class skill.

For (1), click the "Eval Scripts" button. The first part of the script
is adding 3 to the chosen skill - simply change the "+ 3" to a "+ 2".
(You can delete the rest of the script, since you don't need it - it
does stuff that only applies to skill focus.

Now click the Test button, and make sure your feat is working properly
so far.


For (2), we need to make the skill a class skill. You do this by
"forwarding" the class skill tag to the hero, like so:

var result as number
result = field[fChosen].chosen.forward[ClassSkill.?]

You also need to change the priority of the script to "100", to make it
run at the proper time.

Click Test again, and your Cosmpolitan feat should now be working.


Hope this helps!
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Arthurrw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26

Old September 11th, 2007, 03:15 AM
Thanks that worked great, ? does it tell anywhere what to set the priority at so that you know when to run things?
Arthurrw is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old September 13th, 2007, 11:16 AM
Arthurrw wrote:
>
>
> Thanks that worked great, ? does it tell anywhere what to set the
> priority at so that you know when to run things?


The editor documentation has a list of many phases and priorities stuff
should be run at, and we're working on adding more as time goes on.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.