Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 770

Old May 2nd, 2014, 04:29 PM
Hello there!

After some consideration I finally bought RW and currently trying it out a bit. I need some help with smart maps:

I inserted a smart map (within the size limitations, jpg) and noticed the following things:

- In the edit and GM view mode all looks okay and the pin is properly placed.
- In the player view the borders of the map window seem to be way too large.
- If I zoom out to 10% I can see the map pin at a wrong position
- Also the map parts that are revealed to players are at the wrong postion.

Is this a known bug? Are there other limitations with the input format like DPI, colours etc.?

Here are some properties from the image:
9.9 x 18.0 cm; 3.9 x 7.1 inches
1166 x 2126 Pixels (2.48 MPixels) (1.82)
256 (8 BitsPerPixel)
Resolution: 300x300 dpi
JPEG, quality: 88, subsampling OFF
Unique Colors: 256
Disk Size: 302.21 KB (309.459 Bytes)

Another picture seems to work just fine.

PS Also after resizing and reducing the number of colours it did not work.

Best regards and thanks for all feedback in advance.

Last edited by Acenoid; May 3rd, 2014 at 02:53 PM. Reason: Topic edited.
Acenoid is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 770

Old May 5th, 2014, 10:54 AM
Hi,

does anyone else have the same problem or did you get around it?
Acenoid is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Silveras
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,517

Old May 5th, 2014, 11:05 AM
I know that some differences in the handling of jpeg vs. png files were causing an extra border to appear on some images (I think it was the jpegs, but not certain now).

I don't recall seeing reports of the other issues, though.
Silveras is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
davidp
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,116

Old May 5th, 2014, 11:13 AM
There is a known issue with some JPG images (specifically grey-scale) causing issues. See this thread, for example:

http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=48847

Have you tried saving the JPG image as a PNG instead? In many cases I've seen that PNG files become smaller than a JPG image when the data is not photographic type of image, so you would save some space as well as it probably working within Realm Works.
davidp is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 770

Old May 5th, 2014, 01:36 PM
Thanks! I will try that out.
Acenoid is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.