Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old May 31st, 2010, 01:29 PM
For my AE project I have the following problem....

the witch class has different aspects: f.i. a wood witch, a winter witch, a wind witch and many more.

each of this witch type has 5 (ore more) class abilities, you can chose and pick every 5 levels.

How can I make the selection of the witch type and how can I select one of the class abilities?
tkarn is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old May 31st, 2010, 06:31 PM
I would either make 5 versions of the class, or I would make the 5 class abilities Custom Abilities that relied on the aspect chosen (also a custom ability). Probably the Custom ability route is better because it would not clog up the class selection screen.
Lawful_g is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old May 31st, 2010, 11:22 PM
Thank you!

Can I find it somewhere in the manual how to handle custom abilities?
tkarn is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old June 1st, 2010, 01:08 AM
I don't think so, they are pretty easy though. All you have to do is set the number the class gets at each level, then create them in the Custom Ability tab of the editor. Make sure you mark the "Available to Class" drop down menu correctly.
Lawful_g is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old June 1st, 2010, 01:25 PM
It works fine....
tkarn is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old June 9th, 2010, 03:22 AM
Now I have a problem coding the Champion class....

A champion has different causes, f.i. life, magic, death etc. This selection I do via a cusom ability chosen at level 1. At Level 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 he gets a champion ability depending on the cause.

I programmed different special abilities at the level with the cause as a prerequisite. It works fine and the ability is red in the ability list, if a cuse is not chosen. But now I have a long list of special abilities.

1. How can I make the special abilities invisible, when the cause is not selected?
2. Choosing the cause will give the champion bonus class skills. How can I programm that?

Thank you.
tkarn is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old June 9th, 2010, 09:17 AM
#1 can't be done as far as I know, you'll just have to live with them there but greyed out.

#2 in each cause make an Eval script at First 100:
~ Add a class skill
perform hero.child[cHelpXXX].assign[ClassSkill.Profession]

Where you replace XXX with your class' 3 letter abbreviation and Profession with each skill. If you are giving proficiency with all Profession, Knowledge, Craft, or Perform skills then assign the name of the category. Otherwise, if just giving Knowledge Arcana for example, put the unique ID of those skills (kKnowArcan in this example).
Lawful_g is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old June 9th, 2010, 10:57 AM
Thank you.....
tkarn is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
tkarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 251

Old June 9th, 2010, 11:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawful_g View Post
#1 can't be done as far as I know, you'll just have to live with them there but greyed out.
That's a pity. There are actually 10 causes..... Is it possible to have it on a seperate screen like it is done on spellcasting classes?

Last edited by tkarn; June 9th, 2010 at 11:44 AM.
tkarn is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Lawful_g
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,245

Old June 9th, 2010, 12:14 PM
You mean in the little "I" button to the left? I am not sure.

Why do you want to? They shouldn't show on the tab initially unless you have already added the custom ability.
Lawful_g is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.