Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
rwap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5

Old February 26th, 2020, 05:07 AM
Hi everyone,

I've been using Realmworks for 5-6 years, but only just started trying to explore the import/export functionality.

I'm running Realmworks version 1.0.1094.254 on Windows 10.

I've currently got two realms at the minute, one is a child of the other. After doing some work in the child realm, I've tried to export and import it into the parent realm, but I get a crash without fail and the error 'Cannot move tags when incorporation required'.

Has anyone encountered this error before? I tried searching for it in the forum search but it doesn't return anything.
rwap is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,353

Old February 26th, 2020, 07:25 AM
Yes, you should only export->import in one direction between realms. It won't work, or will break things, if you try to merge from the realm containing the import back to the realm from which the export was originally performed.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
nightpanda2810
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 169

Old February 27th, 2020, 07:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farling View Post
Yes, you should only export->import in one direction between realms. It won't work, or will break things, if you try to merge from the realm containing the import back to the realm from which the export was originally performed.
Exactly this. I tried doing this a while back, couldn't get it to work, just made a mess.

Check this thread, may help you reorganize in a way that works for you.

http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=63654
nightpanda2810 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 774

Old February 27th, 2020, 10:03 AM
Will realm A remember if you export to B and from there to C and then C to A?

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
nightpanda2810
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 169

Old February 27th, 2020, 10:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acenoid View Post
Will realm A remember if you export to B and from there to C and then C to A?
Never go from C to A. If you have info to edit in C that you want in A and B, go into A, make your edit, export, import into B, export that, import into C. Any other way makes a big mess, if it works at all. Its a bit tedious to do this, but its worth the effort.

I also recommend using version numbers in the export section, then make note in the description what each version number means. You can keep an export of each, or delete them as you go once you've confirmed all is well.

nightpanda2810 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 774

Old February 27th, 2020, 11:58 AM
Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,353

Old February 27th, 2020, 03:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acenoid View Post
Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!
Even going A to B to C and back to A will cause a problem. I don't think it is based on complexity at all.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
nightpanda2810
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 169

Old February 28th, 2020, 05:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acenoid View Post
Good idea. But the only things I tried to export so far crashed for some reason :/ and the realm was not even complicated"!
Assuming you're not trying to go backwards, downgrade to 253. You will need to delete your local database and sync back down from the cloud. Best way is to rename the Realm Works folder here, then resync after the downgrade.
C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc


https://www.wolflair.com/download/rw...53_install.exe
nightpanda2810 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.