Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old November 30th, 2007, 07:24 AM
I have replaced several standard weapons with my own variants of those weapons (i.e. bone longsword replaces longsword). Everything seems to work fine until I try to equip the character with those weapons - if the character has WepProf.wLongsword it does not apply to my new longsword. Is that not how the replace mechanism is supposed to work?

The "counts as weapon" doesn't seem to work for me either.
huntercc is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 4th, 2007, 04:36 PM
huntercc wrote:
>
>
> I have replaced several standard weapons with my own variants of those
> weapons (i.e. bone longsword replaces longsword). Everything seems to
> work fine until I try to equip the character with those weapons - if the
> character has WepProf.wLongsword it does not apply to my new longsword.
> Is that not how the replace mechanism is supposed to work?
>
> The "counts as weapon" doesn't seem to work for me either.


Hi there,


Unfortunately you've found a hole in the way that the weapon proficiency
stuff works in conjunction with the replace mechanism. You're right -
that's how it should work. HL isn't handling the case of a weapon being
replaced properly, so it doesn't.

We've added this to our list of stuff to fix. Until then, you should be
able to fix this by adding a simple script:


var result as number
if (hero.tagis[WepProf.wLongsword] <> 0) then
result = assign[Helper.Proficient]
endif


At around PreLevel / 10000.

Hope this helps,

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old December 4th, 2007, 05:29 PM
Thanks! I assume that script would go on the weapon thing? Is the "counts as weapon" something that's not working yet, or am I not understanding how it works? I got the impression it would make weapon A be treated as if it were weapon B. Seems like it could be flexible, if you wanted a weapon to be similar to several different weapons.
huntercc is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old December 4th, 2007, 05:38 PM
huntercc wrote:
>
>
> Thanks! I assume that script would go on the weapon thing? Is the
> "counts as weapon" something that's not working yet, or am I not
> understanding how it works? I got the impression it would make weapon A
> be treated as if it were weapon B. Seems like it could be flexible, if
> you wanted a weapon to be similar to several different weapons.



You're understanding how it should work, and in most places it does in
fact work like that. However, there's a specific case where it doesn't
work - the one you discovered. That's one of the things that we need to
fix.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old December 4th, 2007, 05:50 PM
haha well it's good to know I'm not losing it - at least not entirely
huntercc is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
cignus7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15

Old January 11th, 2008, 12:24 PM
could you elaborate on how to do this?

I want to do this for the Whip dagger i made, i added the weapon as wWhipDag and clicked on the eval script button, copied and pasted the above i there (changing the wlongsword to wWhip and when i test i get thing-invalid unique id
cignus7 is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old January 15th, 2008, 03:17 PM
cignus7 wrote:
>
>
> could you elaborate on how to do this?
>
> I want to do this for the Whip dagger i made, i added the weapon as
> wWhipDag and clicked on the eval script button, copied and pasted the
> above i there (changing the wlongsword to wWhip and when i test i get
> thing-invalid unique id


Does the whip dagger replace the whip? If so, you shouldn't need a
script - everything should just work.

If it's present in addition to the whip, please post the script here so
I can take a look at it.


Thanks,

--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
cignus7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15

Old January 16th, 2008, 01:54 PM
I figured this one out...
cignus7 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.