Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Homer S
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 134

Old August 1st, 2014, 11:10 AM
I'm doing a proof of concept for 40K Battle-forged armies. This type of army requires 1 to unlimited Detachments and each unit must be in a Detachment. Sounds like a drag and drop to me. I can require the army to have at least one Detachment based on tags and rules. I can tag a top level unit which is dropped into a Detachment via the "runtime.multiple" tag.

Here is where it gets messy. I would like the dropped unit to tag the Detachment based on the unit's FOC tag (e.g., Group.HQ). How can I do this? I'm thinking it is context related and it is not "parent".

Also, when dropping is it possible to specify that the Detachment always appears first?

I keep getting these mixed up when dragging and dropping:

Code:
Combined Arms Detachment
Autarch

Autarch
Combined Arms Detachment
Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
Homer S is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Harkan_again
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 206

Old August 4th, 2014, 03:51 AM
I've asked before about drag and drop and the order it goes into the parent unit - if I remember right there isn't any control over the order it is dropped in the parent unit i.e. you can't dictate an order (it would be very useful and answer a lot of the files I author needs as well)

My own Warlord Games gallery and the home of the Warlord Games datafiles:

http://www.facebook.com/ABDataFileWarlordGames
Harkan_again is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Homer S
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 134

Old August 4th, 2014, 09:28 AM
Partial solution to the issue: squad stats can be set based on an Option-Evaluate script. Rules can then be set based on the stats to validate the composition tallys for units dragged under the detachment. If you want the error to look right, the detachment has to be last. Once it is valid, you can drag the detachment to the top. I never turn on view squad names.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
Homer S is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old August 6th, 2014, 08:20 AM
Can you tell me a little more about how you're implementing the detachment? I assume it's a separate unit within the squad, and you're not trying to assign stats etc to the squad itself?
Colen is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Homer S
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 134

Old August 7th, 2014, 03:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colen View Post
Can you tell me a little more about how you're implementing the detachment? I assume it's a separate unit within the squad, and you're not trying to assign stats etc to the squad itself?
The detachment is a separate unit. Units are added to the roster in the usual way and then drag and dropped into the detachment.

I added a global option to all units that have been nested via drag and drop but are not detachments with a procedure to change the squad stats:
Code:
if (unit.tagis[ruleset.ro_Forged] = 1) then

  var retval as number

  if (unit.tagis[runtime.multiple] = 1) then
    if (unit.tagis[gnAcc.isDetach] < 1) then
      retval = unit.assign[gnAcc.inDetach]

      if (unit.tagis[Group.HQ] = 1) then
        squad.stat[gn7DtchHQ] = squad.stat[gn7DtchHQ] + 1
SNIPPED
For the validation errors to show correctly, the detachment must be at the bottom of the stack. Only things left to tidy this up is to force the detachment to always be at the bottom, maybe a squad.sortorder[last] or something. Also, a way to hide the detachment unit itself when outputting.

Showing roster selection and validation warnings (individual FOC limits not yet removed)


Units added but not combined


Units fully added


Units fully added, showing squad titles and squad stats


Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.

Last edited by Homer S; August 7th, 2014 at 04:25 AM.
Homer S is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.